One Hundred – A Miscellany

Somehow it seems appropriate that I’m typing this, my 100th post (or so WordPress tells me), as my first post on my newly recovered computer. I can’t believe that I’ve hit 100 posts already—I’m not the most prolific of bloggers—nor that I’ve managed to stick with this as consistently as I have and for as long. Not that I’m very consistent or long-blogged. (I believe I just passed my two-year mark. I’m not very good at marking these things.) But the most important bit of this whole paragraph is that remark about the computer. For it is recovered, nearly completely as best I can tell. I say “nearly” as the left-Shift is a bit dodgy, but I think that may be because I removed it and it didn’t quite snap back on properly. I’m still a bit in shock at the repair bill–far less than I had anticipated. Hooray for small-town repair shops! (Interestingly, there’s almost a literary connection here: the shop is in Winesburg, Ohio, but not Sherwood Anderson’s Winesburg.)

I almost feel like I should read Winesburg, Ohio, seeing that I’m from Ohio as was Anderson, but I’ve never quite been convinced. No good reason why, perhaps the title just sounds too much like a town directory! On the other hand, I seem to keep finding books to add to my TBR list (the behind-the-scenes master list). The other day I realized that well over a month after I first posted my Classics Club list, I still haven’t read—not even started—a single book for that project. I’ve been too busy finding other books, especially more contemporary reads. So I thought some revision was in order. Rather than doing the reasonable thing and subtracting books to add new ones in, I just added 25 additional titles. I may have to revise my deadline…

The new titles are as follows:

  1. Collodi, Carlo: Le avventure di Pinocchio. Storio di un burattino. [The Adventures of Pinocchio] (1883)
  2. Ford, Ford Madox: Parade’s End (1928)
  3. Smith, Dodie: I Capture the Castle (1940)
  4. Cela, Camilo José: The Hive [La colmena] (1951)
  5. Rulfo, Juan: Pedro Páramo (1955)
  6. Tomasi di Lampedusa, Giuseppe: The Leopard [Il Gattopardo] (1958)
  7. Jackson, Shirley: The Haunting of Hill House (1959)
  8. Sciascia, Leonardo: The Day of the Owl [Il giorno della civetta] (1961)
  9. Fuentes, Carlos: The Death of Artemio Cruz [La muerte de Artemio Cruz] (1962)
  10. Various: El Cuento Hispanoamericano, vol. 1 & 2 (1964, Seymour Menton, ed.)
  11. Pynchon, Thomas: The Crying of Lot 49 (1966)
  12. Fowles, John: The French Lieutenant’s Woman (1969)
  13. Morrison, Toni: The Bluest Eye (1970)
  14. Calvino, Italo: Invisible Cities [Le città invisibili] (1972)
  15. Doctorow, E.L.: Ragtime (1975)
  16. Tolkien, J.R.R.: The Silmarillion (1977, posthumous)
  17. Calvino, Italo: If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler [Se una notte d’inverno un viaggiatore] (1979)
  18. Eco, Umberto: The Name of the Rose [Il nome della rosa] (1980)
  19. Rushdie, Salman: Midnight’s Children (1980)
  20. Saer, Juan José: The Witness [El entenado] (1983)
  21. Atwood, Margaret: The Handmaid’s Tale (1985)
  22. Marías, Javier: All Souls [Todas las almas] (1987)
  23. Wallace, David Foster: Infinite Jest (1996)
  24. Bolaño, Roberto: Nazi Literature in the Americas [La literatura nazi en América] (1996)
  25. Vargas Llosa, Mario: The Feast of the Goat [La fiesta del chivo] (2000)

I’m currently reading The Silmarillion and The Name of the Rose; in fact this latter book could be reasonably blamed for my lengthened list. Ahem.

While on the subject of lists, thank you to everyone who provided such supportive comments and suggestions on my Cinematic Treasures post! After reading through all the (many) suggestions, I decided to go ahead and post a list of recommendations I’ve received (and/or movies I’ve seen already) for anyone who is interested in a project of their own. It will remain in the menu above and be updated as I come across new titles. Just today, I came across a link to a blog post with foreign film recommendations provided by director Martin Scorsese to a young fan. Some were already on my list, others were completely new to me.

So with all these lists and projects, I’d say I have plenty to do for quite a while. Now, if I can just keep myself from any more distractions!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Jillian ♣

     /  May 9, 2012

    I love your new titles! I haven’t finished any books for my Classics Club list either, though I’ve started several. :P I’m glad your computer got fixed! I think Winesburg, Ohio is on my Classics Club list…

    Reply
    • Thanks! It seemed a nice way to back into getting some titles finished… ;) I maybe should have added Winesburg, Ohio, but didn’t think of it until I’d decided the additional titles, and this time I’m not adding any more! (I hope.)

      Reply
  2. I also love those additions to your list, especially the Latin American and Spanish ones. I can’t wait to read what you think!
    Also, good to hear your computer is back. Yay!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Now, I just need to get to them. Yes, I’m very happy to have the computer back. I’d forgotten how slow the old one was and it was making my crazy to use!

      Reply
  3. well done on 100 post amanda some great translations added to your list there ,all the best stu

    Reply
    • Thanks, Stu! I’m hoping to actually read some of the ‘translations’ in the original language, but we’ll see if I’m actually able to read outside of English that well!

      Reply
  4. Wow, I see lots of Spanish/Latin literature there! Are you reading them translated or in Spanish? This is quite an international list, good luck with them (and keep me posted on Margaret Atwood, she is one of my favourite writers/role-models/obsessions).

    Reply
    • I will likely be mostly reading translations, but ideally I’ll read some in Spanish. The short story collections definitely in Spanish, as that’s the copy I have! (I have Spanish editions of a few of the others on my list, so if I can get up to speed with my Spanish, I’ll read those in Spanish as well.)

      As I finish books (slowly…), I’ll be posting about them here, don’t worry!

      Reply

Thoughts or Comments?

  • Enter your e-mail address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  • Reading Ohio



  • Russian Literature 2014



  • The Classics Club




    March 2012 to March 2017

  • Cinematic Treasures


  • A Year of Masterworks


  • Recent Posts

  • Currently Reading



  • Upcoming







  • Recent Tweets

  • Classic Children’s Literature



  • Wonderful Wizard of Oz RAL



  • The Hound of the Baskervilles RAL




    October 2014

  • Archives

  • Copyright © 2010-2014.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

