Newly aquired books

More for the stack

I really had not intended to be gone for most of December, but well, December, got in the way, as it is apt to do. That and a bit of messiness at work, but as I’m on a nice little vacation this week, the soonest we forget about that the better. I’m a sucker for the prospect of a new year, however (although, if I’m honest with myself, I’m not sure what difference simply changing a date makes) so I’m optimistic that come January, not only will everything magically be better (too many children’s novels lately, me thinks) but that I will resume my regular reading habit.

In other events, I’m not sure it would be a proper Christmas without new books. I come from a family of book lovers, and most years we all have new books under the tree. Although I think my brother actually won the ‘most new books’ award, I’m very content with the four I received.

From the top:

  • Tea With Jane Austen by Kim Wilson. This was not one I’d heard of, but my bother stumbled across it, and knowing my fondness for both Jane Austen’s works and fresh-brewed tea (I’m a bit of a snob, actually–I only drink loose leaf) he selected it for me. I look forward to spending time with this and a good cup of English Breakfast tea.
  • Wrapped in Lace: Knitted Heirlooms from Around the World by Margaret Stove. One of my other hobbies is knitting, fine lace specifically. There are some beautiful shawls and scarves in here, as well as passages on historical lace types and Stove’s journeys through lace knitting. Inspiration, if nothing else.
  • Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day by Jeff Hertzberg and Zoë Françios. Nothing beats fresh-baked bread. I already owned their Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day, but wanted to branch out from whole-grain fare to that which is a little…less healthy! There are so many interesting varieties I want to try. The Roasted Red Pepper Fougasse and Vermont Cheddar Bread are both at the top of my list.
  • Pride and Prejudice: An Annotated Edition by Jane Austen, Edited by Patricia Meyer Spacks. This was the one book I was really hoping to get. Perhaps I’ve been spending too much time with my brother, a graphic designer, but one of the first things I noticed was the moire texture of the endpapers! It is a lovely book, well-laid out, with illustrations to augment the annotations. Skimming through it, some of the annotations clarify terms, others clarify plot points, and some clarify customs of the era. Skimming through, I also realized how long it’s been since I’ve actually read the entire book, my intentions over last spring’s vacation notwithstanding. I may have to prioritize this book for next year.

Plenty to keep me busy. I’ve been thinking that this coming year I should focus on books I already own, and these help strengthen that intention. And perhaps provide inspiration for far too many other messes to get myself into…!

6 thoughts on “More for the stack

  1. A great stack indeed! I have the bread book and Pride and Prejudice, but hadn’t heard of the other two. Now of course I want them desperately. 🙂

Comments are closed.