RAL · Reading

Getting back to reading

As I mentioned yesterday, I think my biggest problem with my reading right now is a failure to set aside time for my reading. Part of this certainly is because of this silly little registration test hanging over my head (and my obsessive need to know the correct answer to every possible question that might be on it….), but honestly, if I had a job right now, I wouldn’t have as much time for studying as I do. Therefore, no excuses! Fortunately, Allie had a great idea – an unofficial, Outta the Rut read-a-thon for this weekend. Perfect timing. The only question remains, what to read? And how much?

Because of the aforementioned test, I don’t think I’ll participate all three days, just Saturday and Sunday. I’d like to aim for 5-6 hours of solid reading Saturday and 3-4 Sunday. That doesn’t really sound like a lot, but it a) will be a major improvement and b) is probably realistic. If I read more, even better.

I’m currently about 10 pages into Reading Lolita in Tehran, so I’d like to read some more of that. Other than that I’m really not sure what. I have a fair number of books on my shelves I’ve yet to read that I could chose from. Jane Austen: A Life. East of Eden. The Shadow of the Wind. Cranford. Don Quixote. Any number of Shakespeare plays. Anna Karenina. The Woman in White. Among others. I may just go with whatever strikes me at the moment. So many choices…

4 thoughts on “Getting back to reading

  1. I’m glad you’re joining in! I’m not sure what I’m going to grab after Oliver Twist (I am currently procrastinating finishing it), but you have some good suggestions too!

    1. Thanks! I’m ready to switch books, at least for a while I think, but I’m not sure which to choose. I might not even pick something I’ve listed…

Comments are closed.