RAL · Reading

In which I admit to failure

So….the weekend’s readathon didn’t go so well. To put it bluntly, I barely got anything read. A summary of the weekend’s reading:

  • Positive: I read Saturday. More in one sitting than I have all year, about 4 hours or so.
  • Negative: I didn’t read for more than 30 minutes on Sunday.
  • Positive: I’m enjoying Reading Lolita in Tehran.
  • Negative: Reading Lolita in Tehran is a very slow book for me. I keep stopping to think about what she’s just said, or I re-read a sentence or paragraph. Or, more likely, my mind wanders off on some tangent which may or may not be related.
  • Negative: I realized that I can’t read Reading Lolita in Tehran straight through, like I’ve been doing with my books lately. It’s simply not reading quickly enough.
  • Positive: I get to pick another book to read!
  • Positive: I spent time browsing my bookshelves for other books to read, something I haven’t spent much time on in a while.
  • Negative: I still have to put all those books away. Oops.
  • Negative: I still haven’t settled 100% on what book is next.
  • Positive: I’m going to be spending a lot more time browsing my books, reading first pages, finding the next book. Or six.

Despite my inability to get more than (mumble) pages read this weekend, I don’t really wish to call it a complete failure. After all, I did spend time reading, I did find a book I like, and I’m rededicated to a more consistent reading schedule. Even if that means only a few pages a day. I also realized that I may not be able to stick with my goal for the TBR Dare of April 1. Although I still have almost all of the same books on my shelf waiting to be read as I did at the first of the year, they’re not calling to me as strongly as I would like. My limitation may actually be hindering my desire to read them! I’m not ready to call it quits, yet though. My current reading still meets the qualifications, and I may be more excited about my books once I’m back in the “practice” of reading.

Now, I just need to pick out another book….

7 thoughts on “In which I admit to failure

  1. Amanda, I find that blogging/posting concerns sometimes interfere with a more normal reading process where I just read what I want when I want without worrying about the “need” to finish a book, write a post on it, etc. Not sure if this has anything to do with your situation at all, but I wish you luck deciding on a new read that really grabs a hold of you. Cheers!

    1. Richard, I wish it were that simple! I’m beginning to conclude that I haven’t given enough allowance for the amount of mental energy I’m currently putting into studying, exacerbated by mis-selecting appropriate reading choices. That is, I probably should be reading picture books (that aren’t discussing construction methods and materials)! Or at the very least, somewhat lighter fare. I have a couple ideas, but haven’t taken the time to search out the books just yet. Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Good luck with your reading. My reading pace depends on the books I read. When it’s a little slow, I try to alternate with a book that’s easier to read. 🙂

    1. Thank you! That’s actually what I’ve ended up doing, and I’ve found a lovely book I can’t believe I’ve never read before. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. getting time is sometimes hard and books that distract can be infurating at times ,sometimes a novella helps kick start some quicker reading ,all the best stu

    1. Thank you! I hadn’t thought of a novella, although that’s a really good idea. I did find a book that just hits the spot, though, so all is much better.

Comments are closed.