RAL

On Progress (24-hour Read-a-thon)

Unsurprisingly to me at least, I got off to a bit of a sluggish start this morning, aka I slept in. However, once I finally got started, I’ve been happy with my progress.

Hour 5 (noon) update:
Time spent reading: 2 hrs, 15 min.
Book(s) read: How to Read a Book (Mortimer J. Adler & Charles Van Doren)
Pages read: +/- 27
Thoughts: Not a lot of pages, but a lot of thinking involved. I also grabbed another book to try out some of the “Inspectional Reading” techniques listed in chapter 4 of Adler & Van Doren’s book, so that took some time. I’ll switch over to fiction sometime this afternoon, but for now I’m trying to continue to progress through the library book. (I’ve already maxed out the renewals!)

Up next: more of How to Read a Book followed by either Conversation in the Cathedral (Vargas Llosa) or Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm (Wiggin).

Hour 10 (5:00) update
Time spent reading (since last update): about 2-1/2 hours actually reading (breaks for food, blogging, etc.)
Books read: How to Read a Book and Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm
Pages read (since last update): 18 pages of How to Read a Book to finish out Part I & 30 pages Rebecca
Thoughts: hmm…I’m spending too much time not reading! It’s not going to get better in the short term, what with dinner, etc., but I have no plans after that. Also, must find more comfortable way to sit.

Up next: Probably more of Rebecca…, and hopefully switch over to Conversation this evening.

Hour 16.5 (11.30 p.m.) update
Time spent reading (since last update): 4-1/2 hours more or less
Books read: Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm
Pages read (since last update): 107 pp.
Thoughts: So much for the library books, the book I own (Rebecca…) has caught my attention. It’s actually the perfect book for a read-a-thon as it’s not at all heavy and very enjoyable.

Up next: I’m getting sleepy, so most likely this is it for this spring’s read-a-thon. If I should manage to eke out a few more pages, they will be from Rebecca….

10 thoughts on “On Progress (24-hour Read-a-thon)

  1. Oh, I’m excited you’re in. I didn’t realize you’d be read-a-thonning. Sending you a cheer! ♥

    1. Thanks! I don’t think I mentioned it on your blog when you talked about the read-a-thon. Probably because I didn’t decide until almost the last minute!

  2. Great job today! You did an amazing job. Enjoy falling asleep to Rebecca 🙂 (Or if you get a second wind – enjoy the rest of the readathon!)

    1. Thank you! It’s been so long since I fell asleep to a book–I really should do so more often!

Comments are closed.