Misc · Newly aquired books · Reading

Another Week, Another Month

A double tulip - but doesn't it look like a miniature peony?

I can’t believe it’s the end of April already! For that matter, I can’t believe that we ever entered April. This I might have to possibly attribute to the chilly weather we’ve endured well into spring this year. It’s been just warm enough for the bulbs to open up, at least when the sun is out, but we’ve only had a handful of days warm enough to sit outside. I’m not exactly an out-of-doors person, but after being stuck indoors a good part of the winter, between snow storms and ice storms, I’m getting a bit antsy to at least sit and read outside.

Or even study outside. This last week saw almost no literary reading, although I did manage about 20 pages of Conversation in the Cathedral. I actually read quite a bit of other things, it just happened that most of it was study material. Exhilarating. If I had the discipline, I would just drop all other things and charge through these tests as quickly as possible (I can set my own schedule for when I take them) so that I could then get to the reading I actually want to do.

In more exciting news, I am way behind the times in showing off my latest literary acquisition:

I won Tess (my choice from the Penguin cloth-bound selection) from Allie as part of a mini-challenge during the recent Read-a-thon. Thank you so much, Allie! It has been at least 10 years since I’ve read any Hardy, although I did see an adaptation of this on PBS a year or two ago, and I am looking forward to this one.

It won’t be this coming week, though. As usual, I have a looming library deadline, and I’ve maxed out renewals, so Conversation in the Cathedral will be taking precedence over other “fun” reading this week. (This, incidentally, is why I have difficulty reading from my own shelves. No deadlines.)  I would also like to start the other book I have out from the library (How to Read Literature Like a Professor) if I have time. And maybe, just maybe, I will return to Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm. And you? Any exciting reading planned for this week?

12 thoughts on “Another Week, Another Month

  1. I’m finishing up Persuasion this week, and (by the way) now own the entire Anne of Green Gables series. So… that’s coming.

    Curious about your thoughts on How to Read Literature Like a Professor.

    1. I can’t wait to hear what you have to say about Persuasion. (Although I know I will have to wait until your Classics Circuit post!) I was just thinking about the Anne of Green Gables series earlier, actually–for some reason I suddenly realized I couldn’t recall the 7th book at all, not even the title, so I had to look it up! I hope you enjoy the series.

      I’m looking forward to How to Read Literature Like a Professor as well. I’ve shied away from it in the past as I haven’t been sure that I actually wanted to read like a professor, but lately I’ve been drawn to anything that might offer suggestions about how to read better. (Besides actually just reading more, of course!)

    1. They are beautiful, Stu. I have one other but I mostly can’t justify getting too many of them, as I already own copies of most of the titles Penguin has issued. Maybe if I had more shelf space…

  2. Tess was one of my favorite books in high school, Amanda, so I’ll look forward to hearing what you think about it once more fun reading time returns to your life. I’m taking another crack at Cortázar’s Rayuela this month, a book I’ve enjoyed yet kind of struggled with in the past, and other than that I’ll be looking to fill the entertainment void left in my reading life now that I’ve finally finished Murakami’s The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle. What a super read that was!

    1. Don’t hold your breath on Tess, it could be a while! I’m looking forward to it though, as I’ve wanted to read it ever since I saw the adaptation on PBS. The name Cortázar sounds really familiar to me, but I don’t think I’ve read any of his work, so I’m assuming he’s one of the better known Latin American authors? I look forward to hearing what you have to say about Rayuela.

    1. I’ve only actually read one Hardy, but I would really like to read more. After seeing Tess on TV, I knew it had to be on my must-read list–there just seemed to be more going on than the movie could cover.

  3. Congratulations on winning a copy of Tess. It’s a beautiful edition. 🙂 I haven’t read anything by Hardy yet, but I have a copy of Jude the Obscure in my TBR pile. I can’t wait to hear what you think about him. 🙂

    1. Thank you! It is really pretty – and with a lot of extra information/notes too. I’ve read one Hardy, but it’s been a while, so I look forward to reacquainting myself with his work.

  4. Yes that does look like a peony! I haven’t read Tess and somehow it’s never had a pull on me, still waiting for the one review that convinces me (maybe yours?). 😀

    1. A peony, or maybe one of those fluffy old-fashioned roses. I just love this time of year when new flowers keep opening. Pretty soon, the real peonies will be blooming!

      Regarding Tess, on the one hand I’m inclined to avoid Hardy as his works tend to be downers, but on the other hand, I’ve lately had a strong hankering to read more of his work. The TV miniseries really intrigued me with this one–I’m biased by the idea that the book is always better than the movie, and the movie was good, so…. Here’s hoping it lives up to my expectations!

Comments are closed.