Challenge

R.I.P. and Other Thoughts

I’m working on a post on the recently completed The Sign of Four for later this weekend, but first I wanted to pop in and commit myself (perhaps foolishly!) to this fall’s R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril challenge. I say “perhaps foolishly,” as I’m currently not actually sure what my fall schedule is going to be like. I know that at the minimum, however, October will be freer than September, so that should allow some time for seasonally appropriate reading. That, and I seem to be on a bit of a mystery kick, and mysteries fall under Carl’s guidelines. Of course, there’s also the upcoming Classics Circuit on pre-Victorian Gothic that I’m considering participating in, so everything seems pointed towards a rather suspenseful reading season.

Due to the aforementioned schedule uncertainty, I’m only going to commit myself to Peril the Second (two books), although I’m hoping I’ll have time for much more. Peril of the Short Story is also a possibility, as I have a short Edgar Allan Poe collection I’ve been meaning to get to.

Now, what to read? Some possibilities from my shelves:

  • The Italian (Ann Radcliffe) – qualifies as pre-Victorian Gothic
  • Dracula (Bram Stoker)
  • The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Sir Arthur Conan Doyle)
  • The Moonstone OR The Woman in White (Wilkie Collins)
  • The Turn of the Screw (Henry James)
  • Short Stories – Edgar Allan Poe

Add to this the infinity of possibilities from the library. I already have Death at La Fenice (Donna Leon) checked out, so that is probably the one book I’m certain to read for this challenge. I have some other thoughts in mind as well, but I need to check availability first. And of course, final determination of books read will almost certainly be whim based.

Some miscellaneous other news:

  • It looks like we will have a new bookstore to replace the departing Borders! I still need to check out the newish Independent, too, but I’ve heard second-hand that it doesn’t stock much in the way of books I’m interested in. Maybe. This is why I need to visit.
  • I’m almost finished with my Architectural Registration Exam, thank goodness. I’m sick of studying, so I scheduled out all the rest of the tests and will be finished Oct. 1 (thus the less busy October than September).
  • I’m still reading in Spanish! Although slow-going, the challenge is fun, and I’ve started keeping a list of words that I just plain like. I’ve also been a bit surprised at how much meaning I can gather in a paragraph only knowing with certainty a handful of words. (Others I recognize but hesitate at the translation, and some are related through a common Latin origin to English words I know.)

Back soon with the next Sherlock Holmes post!

19 thoughts on “R.I.P. and Other Thoughts

    1. I don’t know if I’ll read it this year or not, but it’s definitely on my list to read eventually. Everything I’ve heard about it is really positive.

  1. well you must read Hound of the Baskervilles! It’s the best of Sherlock Holmes IMO.
    I read both The Woman in White and the Moonstone and they are both excellent and I read Dracula last year.. I wasn’t impressed. But Carl is head over heels for it.. so you have a good shot at liking it lol

    1. My plan is to read the Holmes in the order of publication, so it will be a while until I get to Baskervilles, but I’ll read it someday, promise! I’ve actually read The Moonstone before, but I want to re-read it as part of a a early detective fiction project, and I’ve read Dracula twice and loved it. Another blogger is thinking of hosting a RAL for it this fall, so it’s definitely in contention for a re-re-read.

    1. Go for it! The main goal is fun, and if you don’t have a lot of time (although it is over two months), you can choose to read just one book or even a short story.

  2. We like that kind of foolishness, believe me! Thanks for taking the plunge.

    And oh my, your reading list is delish! Loving it. Dracula is my favorite and the others are books I have either read or desperately want to read.

    1. Dracula would be a re-read (if it happens), and is definitely one of my favorites. What I actually end up reading may or may not even be on this short list, but hopefully it will actually end up being more than just the two I’ve committed to!

    1. I’ve read The Moonstone before–I remember that I really liked it, but don’t really remember the actual story all that well. I’ve heard a lot of good things about The Woman in White, too, so these are two books to look forward to!

  3. Great picks! I’m reading Turn of the Screw as well, and a lot of bloggers say it’s the most accessible thing James has every written. We’ll see… 🙂

    1. The only James I’ve read is Daisy Miller, which I didn’t find that difficult, so if Turn of the Screw is supposed to be the most accessible, it shouldn’t be too bad–just pleasantly creepy!

  4. I think I’ve read most of the possibilities from your shelves except the Radcliffe and one of the Wilkie Collins, so I think you’re in for some fun with those pretty much regardless of what you choose. Was never a big Henry James fan though I’ve become interested in reading him again after seeing a few people (bloggers and others) compare Javier Marías’ writing style to his in some respects. Congrats on making time for reading in Spanish (I think finding time is half the battle). Cheers!

    1. I’ve read some on my list as well, but I’ve always been a fan of re-reading! I’d like to try to get to some new books as well, though. I’ve only read one James (Daisy Miller) and was so-so on that, but I’ve wanted to read Turn of the Screw for ages, thanks to an adaptation shown on PBS, oh probably 12 years ago or so. I don’t think it’s too long, so there’s a good chance it might happen. Finally, I completely agree that finding (making) the time to read in Spanish is the major battle. Once I get started, it’s never as difficult as anticipated!

Comments are closed.