RAL

On Progress 2: 24-hour Read-a-thon, Oct ’11 edition

And so arrives the fall 2011 edition of Dewey’s 24-hour read-a-thon. As I did last spring, I will just have one post that I will edit as I go. Up first? I’ll let you know when I decide! Possibilities this year include Dracula and Storm Front (the first in the Harry Dresden series). Or anything I decide to pull off the bookshelves. To everyone else participating, enjoy the reading!

Introduction meme (late, as I only just now checked the read-a-thon site):

1)Where are you reading from today?
2)Three random facts about me…
3)How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?
4)Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?
5)If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time?

1. NE Ohio
2. I’m hopelessly addicted to chocolate; my other major hobby is knitting; I’m a bit of a tea snob as I will only drink loose-leaf tea (unless desperate)
3. Just 2, but plenty of others on the shelves if I need them
4. No goals, just to read lots & have fun!
5. This is only my 2nd read-a-thon, but I’d say stay away from non-fiction and pick fun reads!

Start of Hour 5 Update:
Time Spent Reading: +/- 2.5 hours
Book(s) Read: Storm Front (Jim Butcher)
Pages Read: 106
Thoughts: Outside of a few interruptions, it’s been a great start so far. Storm Front is a reread and I had forgotten how much humor there is in it! I’m taking a little lunch & blogging break right now, and I haven’t decided yet if I’ll continue with Storm Front or switch it up with a little Dracula. Decisions, decisions.

Start of Hour 9 Update:
Time spent reading: +/- 2.5 hours
Book(s) Read: Storm Front (Jim Butcher) & Debt: The First 5,000 Years (David Graeber)
Pages Read: 72
Thoughts: After recommending against NF, I picked up a NF book for the first half-hour of my second round of reading! Of course, I needed a bit of a break from my other book, and I knew to limit my time with it to avoid becoming depressed by my lack of pages finished. There were a few more outside distractions the past few hours, so I didn’t make as much progress. I’ve decided to finish Storm Front (I’m about halfway) before picking up Dracula. Hopefully that will be early tonight! I hope everyone else is having as much fun with this as I am!

Hour 14 Update:
Time spent reading: +/- 3.5 hours
Book(s) Read: Storm Front (Jim Butcher) – finished!
Pages Read: 185
Thoughts: Yay! I finished a book. This is the first time in forever I’ve had the time to start and complete a book all in one day. Moving on to Dracula next. Since we’re past the half-way point, I guess it’s time for the mid-event survey:

1. What are you reading right now? Dracula
2. How many books have you read so far? 1 completely
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Dracula, which will almost certainly be the only book I read this half.
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? Not really—just make sure I did my cleaning yesterday.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? Not really. Just my natural ability to be easily distracted!
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? How fast it’s gone.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Not at this time.
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? I’m not sure I would do anything differently. Maybe get more sleep the day before!
9. Are you getting tired yet? Not currently, but I did doze off briefly about hour 9 (4:00 pm local time). Oops!
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? Pick books that aren’t too difficult, have options on hand (that are different) to break things up. Sometimes I don’t need a break from reading so much as a break from the specific book/type.

Hour 16/Final update:
Time spent reading: ~ 1/2 hour
Book(s) Read: Dracula
Pages Read: 15
Thoughts: Well, this is it for me! I’ve been fighting dozing off the last half-hour or so and haven’t made much progress at all. Good luck to everyone else continuing on through the final hours!

26 thoughts on “On Progress 2: 24-hour Read-a-thon, Oct ’11 edition

  1. Hey Amanda! Looks like you’re off to a great start with the readathon. And I agree with the non-fiction–though I read Catch Me if you can a few readathons ago and enjoyed it.

    Hope you have a great day today!

    Give me an R
    Give me an E
    Give me an A
    Give me a D

    #cheerios

  2. Ooh, I’ve wondered about the Harry Dresden series. Will be interested in your thoughts. I’m in Ohio, too, reading from my parents’ house! Of course, I’m in the opposite corner 🙂 I, too, am a knitter who loves good tea, and I would also be addicted to chocolate if I let myself be!

    Have a wonderful readathon!

    1. I’ve read the first two Dresdens before, but never got around to completing the series. It’s been so long, though, that I’ve decided it was easier to restart than try to remember what I’d read.

  3. I say go with Dracula! It is a great read that just sucks you in….no pun intended. 😉

    I had no idea you were in Ohio! That’s exciting since we’re close…well, closer than I am to most people. If you ever wander northward to MI, there is a GREAT used bookstore we’re going to go to. 🙂

    Good luck on your reading-I’ll be back at some point!

    1. I decided to finish my first book first, but I’m really hoping to get to Dracula tonight! (Ooohhh–that will be really good after-dark reading!)

      You know, I don’t think I’ve mentioned before that I’m in Ohio. Not too far from you, really, although the only time I was to Michigan was for work, actually, and I certainly didn’t get to see any great bookstores.

      Good luck to you, too!

  4. Good job finishing a book! I finished one too, but I’d read the majority of it before the Read-a-Thon. 😉

    Hope you are able to hang in there and read a lot of Dracula!

Comments are closed.