RAL · Reading

The end of R.I.P. & Rereads

So, as usual (it seems lately), I’m running a little behind with getting to my latest post. I had intended to write the final R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril post on Monday, the actual last day, but after finishing my final book, I somehow lost the motivation.

This is the first year I’ve participated in R.I.P., and I had a lot of fun. I wish I had had more time in September to read suspenseful and Gothic reads, and I may carry on with some to end out the year (after all, I’m still trying to get to my planned Dracula reread). I also enjoyed reading many R.I.P. posts and trying not to add too many more books to my to (re)read list!

When I first signed up, I thought it likely that I would only make it through two, maybe three novels, and so only set my sights on Peril the Second. However, as of Oct. 31, the very final day, I had successfully met

Four books! I’ve already discussed Death at La Fenice and Castle of Wolfenbach, but I thought I’d take some time to comment here on my final two reads, both from the same series, Storm Front and Fool Moon.

Some years ago, my brother introduced me to Jim Butcher’s Dresden novels. I don’t know if it was the setting (contemporary Chicago) or the mystery element that suggested to him the idea that this was a fantasy series I might be interested in. Likely a combination of both. Regardless, I read the first three…and then mostly forgot about them. Whether it was the crisp of autumn air or the need for a little silliness in my reading, I finally decided to return to them. I’m hoping to finish out the series (those published to date) by the end of the year, but that’s largely dependent on library availability. However, I quickly realized that starting with book four wasn’t going to work out so well: my memory for the first three books had faded enough that I decided to start from the beginning.

There are many reasons readers choose to reread a book: The feeling of returning home or meeting with an old friend, the ability to further analyze or study a great piece of literature, the feeling that something was missed in the first read that a subsequent read might find. I’ve reread books (or plan to) for all these reasons, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone mention, when they write about rereading, the idea of rereading because they’ve plain ol’ forgotten the book they’ve read. I suppose this forgetting could suggest that perhaps the book in question isn’t really that good. But I have to reject that because there are “great books” I’ve read that I don’t really remember, so this can’t be indicative on its own. I seem to just have a faulty rememberer for some things. (Now unimportant trivia that I will never use—and that I probably don’t even care about—that I can remember. Sigh.)

I’m not about to rush out and say the Dresden novels are great literature, however. No, much like Castle of Wolfenbach, they are just plain fun. (As long as you can overlook the, er, slightly gory bits. Monsters can be messy.) They do tend to reference events in previous books, though, so it’s helpful to actually be able to remember what happened. At least, I find it less annoying when I remember what happened.

The basic premise: our main character and narrator, Harry Dresden, is a wizard and private investigator—the only practicing wizard in the greater Chicago area. The books are set in a largely gritty world where the crime not only comes from seedy supernatural characters, but organized crime as run by Johnny Marcone. They are part mystery, part fantasy, and mostly non-stop adventure. And with all the vampires, werewolves, demons, and wizards, a perfect R.I.P. read. Also, I mustn’t forget the humor (which I found more noticeable in Storm Front than Fool Moon). Beyond the magic/fantasy creatures, there’s not really anything I found special compared to any other mystery-adventure novels. As fun reads, though, they are just the thing to get one out of a reading slump (or through a read-a-thon). So as the haunting season draws to a close, I will let my supernatural reading bleed over into the approaching holidays. And maybe pick up something a little more seasonal come late December!

7 thoughts on “The end of R.I.P. & Rereads

  1. Part of the reason I’m writing up a post on each classic I read, is because I probably will forget some of them. I might even forget I read them at all, but for the list I keep!! So rereading to remember the book? Makes complete sense to me. 🙂

    You know, I only wrote up a post for one novel for the RIP challenge. But I just counted, and I read five…

    Ah, well. 🙂

    1. Yes, posting on the books I read is a great help in remembering them. I think even just the fact of forcing myself to put to words my thoughts on a book helps cement it more strongly in my mind.

      I guess we both did better for R.I.P. than we expected! At least you had some good reads, even if you didn’t post them for R.I.P.

    2. That’s actually part of why I started my blog… I like having a written reminder of what I think of each book that I read.

      This year was my first R.I.P. also, and I loved it!

      1. It is very nice to have that written reminder, isn’t it? I usually remember that I’ve read a book, but now I can also remember what I thought about them!

  2. I’m very late in doing so, but wanted to thank you so much for participating in the RIP Challenge this year. It was not only a pleasure knowing you were doing this but it has also been a pleasure reading your comments on my blog. Thank you so much for visiting and for your insights.

Comments are closed.