Newly aquired books · Reading

An Afternoon Out

It was an unexpected snowfall.


Now, this may mean nothing more than I forgot to check the weather forecast. Regardless, I was surprised to wake to a sight unusually rare this winter: the ground and trees coated in fresh snow. I looked outside and thought that perhaps it would be an excellent day to curl up with a book and a cup of hot chocolate in front of the (gas) fire, the weather a perfect excuse for staying in.

Instead I went out. Despite the snow, the temperatures were above freezing, the roads fairly clear, and the bookstore beckoned.
The closest Barnes & Nobel is roughly 50 minutes away. With other options closer, I’ve never been in one, but the temptation to visit a new-to-me bookstore when opportunity arose overcame my inclination to spend the day in, and I was rewarded by finally—finally—finding a copy of Wives and Daughters. The War and Peace below is much more common but I’ve been eying it for a while. My venture out of doors was rewarded.

Of course, my sluggish reading pace this past week didn’t deserve reward. I’ve somehow managed to take to heart of late Douglas Adams’ statement, “I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.”

Only the library renewals have been acknowledged, and so I have a pile of books I need to would like to finish this week. As most of them are Shakespeare related, I would also need to post on them by Friday if I wish to include them for Allie’s readalong. I suppose I post this here as a warning, that if all goes to plan— although it most surely won’t, such is life—I may have an uncharacteristic number of posts this week. I will try, as this is Venice reading month, and I surely wish to return, in spirit if not person. (No, not person just now: it’s so cold this week the canals are beginning to freeze over.)

Best of reading to all; the books beckon.

8 thoughts on “An Afternoon Out

  1. I’m so envious of your snow I can’t stand it! I love snow, love Winter, love the whole deal, and we’ve had two lousy snowfalls all year. Of course, everyone else in the Chicagoland area is doing a Happy Dance.

    Glad you could get to Barnes and Noble, which sounds like the ideal destination for a day such as this. I have the same edition of War and Peace which my son bought for me a few Christmases ago. As you probably know, it’s a lovely edition (and easy to understand!).

    Happy Sunday, Amanda. I’m glad I got to see the snow through your eyes.

    1. Alas, the snow is mostly gone now, but we’re supposed to get a little more later this week. I’m not a fan of snow when I have to go out in it, but it’s certainly better than the gray gloom we’ve had most of the winter.

      I’ve not read War and Peace, but I’ve only heard good things about this edition, so I wanted to have it on hand for when I was ready to start.

      A happy Sunday to you too, Bellezza! I’m glad you enjoyed my snow!

  2. I don’t think there is a better way to spend a cold, snowy Sunday afternoon than in a bookstore and finding a book you have searched for for a long time. Love the snowy picture.

    1. Well, I am rather biased to staying in when it’s snowy out, but a bookstore can be sooooo tempting! (And finding Wives and Daughters very exciting.) Thanks!

  3. That kind of weather is generally our norm this time of year and it has just not materialized yet this winter. Not once. Its getting to the point that if it does snow it will truly be “unexpected” despite the season. Glad you gave in to the urge to get out. Bookstore shopping is always fun, but can be especially so in winter weather. Happy you found some gems.

    1. We don’t usually get a ton of snow, but it’s usually more than we’ve had this winter. And almost always colder. I’m worried that this will mean an ugly March snowstorm…

      I’m glad I went out too. Hopefully I can find the time to pick up one of my new books soon!

  4. Aw, I’d love to get a snowfall. It hardly ever snows here, so I hope this winter marks a difference (only 3 and a half months to go to find out!).
    I’m so glad you found a book you were looking for for so long! Nothing trumps that feeling, does it? Enjoy!

    1. I like snow in moderation and provided I don’t have to drive in it when it’s bad! It was very nice to find the book. Hopefully I’ll have time to read it before too long.

Comments are closed.