about reading

Un po’ di pasta; A Little Reading

Since I shared my exciting Christmas gift back in December, I thought I’d prove that I’ve actually used it (a week ago), going from this:

To this:

And ending with this:

Yum! Running pasta through the machine is sooooo much easier than rolling it out by hand! Still messy, though.

And to be honest, that is about as exciting as it’s been in my neck of the woods lately. I’ve been reading, but at a snail’s pace. Even my blog reading has been lack-luster of late—some days I could barely convince myself to check the feed reader. I guess you could say rather than a reading slump it was an enthusiasm slump. But then the sun came out, the first crocus opened up, I had a very good cup of Aloe Serenity tea or two, and I’m feeling re-energized. The books seem more engaging, other people’s blog posts are more fascinating, and I have a half-dozen or so blog posts planned out for the next three or four weeks. (Exact timing to be determined based on book completion dates.)

I’m finding that I’m having a very mixed relationship with blog-based deadlines and challenges this year. On the one hand, they’re pushing me to get books read I might otherwise put off. On the other, I seem to be running a few weeks behind every one. It’s an interesting conundrum: do I continue to participate in challenges and read-a-longs to gain the benefit of getting something read, or do I cease participation and read at whim? (Very tempting at the moment, but…) There’s something very satisfying in finishing a challenging read, but I have to balance that against potential discouragement when I fall behind. On the other hand, I’m so consistently behind this year that perhaps I don’t know what “discouragement” means. It seems there should be benefits to training myself to be more disciplined, but at this point in time I’m not sure that I actually care about being “disciplined,” at least not as it comes to my reading. Ah, dilemmas.

Regardless, I have high hopes of finishing two books this week. I have one out from the library (Death Comes to Pemberley) that I hadn’t intended to read this month, but the hold list moved faster than I expected. I can’t renew it, so finish it I must. The other (Savage Detectives) I’ve been making my way through very slowly, despite its excellence. Thank goodness I’m not hung up on remembering the details!

And you, any big reading plans for the week?

2 thoughts on “Un po’ di pasta; A Little Reading

  1. Homemade pasta is high on my list of things to try. Yours looks nice. Well done! 🙂

    I’ve been a little lackluster myself. But it was just February, never a good month for me for some reason. Glad it’s over. As for challenges, I’ve decided to go on permanent hiatus. Less pressure, more joy. That’s my new motto. 🙂
    So far I find that I’m reading more slowly as a result, but that’s okay too.
    Cheers!

  2. Thanks! I’ve made it both with and without the pasta machine, and I can say it’s a LOT easier with the machine. I found rolling it out by hand really hard on my wrists & hands, so I’m glad I have this now.

    A permanent challenges hiatus is probably a good idea, but I just can’t seem to help myself!

Comments are closed.