Misc

The Magical 11 Blog Tag

I’ve been tagged by Cassandra of Literary Stars, so here goes:

The Rules:
1. Post rules.
2. Post 11 fun facts about yourself.
3. Answer questions from the person who tagged you.
4. Make up 11 questions for people you tag.
5. Tag 11 people.
6. Let them know they’ve been tagged.

11 Fun Facts about myself

1. I’m a tea snob: I will only drink loose leaf unless desperate; bagged tea just isn’t as good. I’m also not that fond of herbal teas—they don’t have caffeine!

2. I’m less picky about chocolate. It might be a serious addiction.

3. When I’m watching TV I usually have to be doing something else at the same time.

4. My primary non-reading hobby is knitting, the more complex the better. It pairs well with TV watching.

5. I haven’t done very much traveling, but I enjoy visiting other places when I’m there. (The getting there not so much.) I’ve only been to Canada & Italy outside of the US, but I’d love to visit Spain, Britain, Ireland, and Greece, among others.

6. I also like meeting people from other places. Partially, I think it is important to learn about others and from others. And partially, I just love listening to various accents (that aren’t my own).

7. Although I speak/read some Spanish and Italian, it’s been so long since I studied them or used them that when I try to speak now, it comes out in a bad mixture of the two with occasionally some made up words thrown in. I also tend to pronounce new-to-me Spanish words as if they were Italian.

8. I’m tempted to take a French course just so I can finally come somewhat close to pronouncing the names of French authors/composers/artists correctly.

9. Speaking of which, I took piano lessons for eight years…but still don’t know how to say “Debussy.” (And he’s one of my favorites!)

10. I’m very bad at picking favorites. I even waffle on the favorite color question. (Green or blue unless we’re talking clothing, which is red, but I love yellow as an interior paint color.)

11. My biggest spending splurges outside of books usually involve music. I’m almost always listening to something, and since I tend to get bored by a given song/artist/style over time, I keep buying more. (But I’ll go back to old favorites eventually.)

1. If you could live in any age (present-day included) you wanted to, which would you choose?
Truth? I really, really, really like indoor plumbing, and I’m not too keen on the idea of the limited career choices my mom had as a woman, so I’d probably have to stick with today. (My mom wasn’t allowed to take drafting in high school because she was a girl.) This despite the fact that I sometimes feel out of sync with my own time…

2. Is there a literary character you identify with?
Toughie! I’ve always kind of associated with Fanny Price from Mansfield Park, but it’s been so long since I read it, that it might no longer hold true. I can’t think of anyone else right now.

3. The world is divided into two different kinds of people: those who plan their own funerals and those who don’t. To which do you belong?
I haven’t planned my funeral yet, but that doesn’t mean I won’t. Someday. When I think I might be close to actually needing it. So a long time from now! (My uncle, shortly before he died of cancer, planned out his funeral and it was beautiful, if one can say that of such a service.)

4. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would that be?
Not a specific place, but ideally, a small town/smaller city where I could walk to the grocery story but not have to drive too far to get to the movies. I learned from my time in Italy that I love the convenience of walking places but really miss trees and grass if I can’t see them everyday. Also, I like four seasons.

5.  How do you manage the balance between reading and going out?
I’m not really a “going out” sort of person (homebody here), but if I were, I probably wouldn’t manage the balance too well: I just simply can’t stick to a plan, not even as simple as “read every day.”

6. What is your favourite quote?
I thought about searching through odds and ends of notes to find the quotes I’ve written down over the years, but then I realized that my favorite is actually a saying my dad learned from his mom who learned it from her father, etc. I quote my dad’s version:

The things you worry about never come to pass, the things you don’t come up and bite you in the…ankle.

It is true.

7. The eternal question: Which is better, Oxford or Cambridge?
I have no knowledge of the relative academic strengths of the schools in questions, but I generally prefer the architecture of Oxford. Also, one of my favorite British mystery series, Lewis, is set in the town of Oxford, occasionally at the University.

8. Is there a song which has a special meaning to you?
I listen to a ton of music, and a wide variety of it, yet I can’t think of a single song with a special meaning. Nor a favorite song for that matter.

9. What is your favourite quote?
Another saying from Grandma:

You hate your own faults in other people.

Also, true.

10. Romantic comedy or thriller?
Books? Thriller. Movie? 50/50, depending on my mood.

11. Why do you read?
I’m convinced that story is necessary for all humans. Some choose movies/TV, some books, some oral storytelling. I enjoy a good movie as well as anyone, but for the depth and lingering effect, I’ve yet to find anything to match a really good book.

11 Questions

I’m not any good at tagging people, but if you haven’t had a chance to participate and would like to, here are my questions:

1. Is there a book that’s changed your life or greatly impacted you?

2. What one place would you love to visit that you’ve never been?

3. If you could sit down in conversation with any author, living or dead, who would it be?

4. Is there anything you didn’t study in school (or haven’t yet) but you would really love to take a course in?

5. What literary tradition (country, era, style) that you don’t know well most intrigues you?

6. If you could be a tourist in time, what event would you most want to observe?

7. When a movie is adapted from a book, do you have to read the book before you can watch the movie?

8. Which book do you most highly recommend?

9. Which book do you intend to read but are most afraid of?

10. Do you listen to music while reading or is silence preferable?

11. What one book that you haven’t read yet do you most look forward to reading?

7 thoughts on “The Magical 11 Blog Tag

  1. Awesome post! Your grandma sounds like a very wise person. Also, Debussy’s one of my favorites too 🙂
    PS: This is Caro. I opened a wordpress account and am now considering switching my blog from blogspot to it.

    1. Thanks! Given some other things my grandma said/did, I’m not entirely sure how wise, but she sure had some dead-on-accurate sayings.

  2. I really enjoyed reading these fun facts about you. Not many people identify with Fanny Price out of all Austen’s heroines, so I found that little tidbit fascinating. I, on the other hand, am told I most resemble Elizabeth Bennet every time I take a ‘Which Austen Heroine Are You?’ quiz (and I’ve taken more than I care to admit!).

    1. Thank you! I usually get Elinor on the “Which Austen…” quizzes, so perhaps if I reread Mansfield Park, I’d no longer feel the same attachment. But I can be stubborn about not doing something I don’t think is right…

  3. Sorry I haven’t checked that out earlier, I got a bit too drawn into Jane Eyre recently!
    Those are some very interesting and surprising facts (would not have thought of you as a tea snob! The chocolate addiction didn’t quite surprise me that much) and believe me, I am glad that I am not the only one with the Spanish/Italian problem.
    It’s my duty to warn you: learning French would bring that to a completely new level. If you start mixing up 3 languages your sentences usually become incomprehensible, that’s experience talking.

    Your family seems to consist of philosophers! Not that I am surprised 🙂

    1. Jane Eyre is an excellent book to get drawn into. I suppose tea snob isn’t very common for the US, (we’re mostly coffee drinkers), but my mom and grandma are tea drinkers before me.

      I completely believe you regarding the French. It’s bad enough that I was yelling at English for being so difficult to spell earlier, so perhaps I should stick with the three I already know… 🙂

Comments are closed.