Uncategorized

As March Turns to April

bleeding heart flower in bloom

I find myself astonished that it’s already the first of April. I’m even more astonished that the Bleeding Heart is in bloom; it’s a month early. Everything seems to be in a hurry this year save for the Crabapple, which is taking its own time and seems content to burst open on the same schedule as last year.

As for me, I find myself terribly out of schedule. My Magical March was distinctly lacking on magic—I didn’t manage to finish a single book for Adam’s challenge! I did start The Silmarillion (J.R.R. Tolkien), but it is slower, much slower, going than I had anticipated. Of course, I haven’t been too good about reading regularly, either. Looking over my “books finished” list, I was surprised to realize that I actually finished several books in March, but they were either started in February or very short.

So this is my goal for April: READ. A lot. Or at least, a lot more. I don’t have any specific goals regarding books to finish or quantity thereof, just reading will do. I have so many lovely books to pick up, too; I really have no excuses.

  • Despite its slowness, there’s something very lovely about The Silmarillion. I think I will try to chip at it a little each day.
  • I also recently picked up Why Read the Classics?, a collection of literary criticism by Italo Calvino. I’d only intended to read the title essay, but as I was flipping through, I started reading some of the other essays, and find them both interesting and easier reading than I had expected, so I may read more of that than planned.
  • Tolkien’s “On Fairy Stories” is sitting beneath The Silmarillion. I see no reason the two can’t be read concurrently.
  • And the plan, of course, is to follow The Silmarillion with The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings, much anticipated rereads.
  • But before I do that, I will likely be reading along with Caro (Reading Against the Clock) for her The Name of the Rose (Umberto Eco) readathon April 7-8. Not that I think I can finish it in a mere two days…

I’ve planned before to try to read more, each day a bit. I hope I manage it this time, I have so many more books to follow those above!

10 thoughts on “As March Turns to April

  1. I’m curious about your thoughts on the Italo Calvino essays. I want to read them eventually as well. 🙂

    1. I will definitely post about the title essay since it relates to so much recent book blog discussion about “classics.” The others are more specific to individual works, so I don’t know if I’ll find anything to say about them.

  2. Oh, Amanda, you read a lot! And you are always blogging! Don’t be so hard on yourself 😉

    I hope you read more in April if that’s what you like, but remember that the amount of books you read it not as important as how careful you do that reading and how much you take of that reading.

    1. Ha ha, I’m doing a good job of deceiving my audience then! I think I did read a good bit the first week in March, but most everything I posted about this month was actually read in February, and I’ve been reading, um, everything BUT books since then–so that’s what I want to work on. And as ever, I compare myself to past performance, when I used to read for and hour or more every day, which honestly, I don’t do much anymore. Little steps…

  3. I am bowing to you for reading the Silmarillion! I’m a hardcore Tolkien fan myself, but the Silmarillion is without doubt the most unreadable book I’ve ever picked up (i.e. started to read, I did not manage more than 20 pages). In every single sentence there are at least two names I don’t know, and when I look them up in the glossary it goes like that: “XY, son of WZ, born in GH famous for fighting alongside TK in the battle of ZU.” Then of course I have to look up WZ, GH, TK and the battle of ZU, and this goes on until I have no idea what I was reading about originally.
    If you finish this book and understand it, you are my goddess from then on 🙂

    1. Unfortunately, I’ve come across more unreadable material (all for school, of course), so this doesn’t seem too bad! My brother’s read the whole thing twice and he says it’s easiest to just go with the flow of the book and not worry too much about keeping track of who is who. The trickiest bit, I think, is that all the names are so unfamiliar (since they’re from Tolkien’s invented language), so it makes them harder to keep track of. Given all the characters, this might be a book that works best on multiple reads, although I’m not sure I’m going to go that far! 🙂

  4. I’m hoping to read much more in April as well. I have a lot of great titles on my spring TBR that I’m excited to read, but my attention always seems to be demanded elsewhere.

    I’m impressed with your persistence in reading The Silmarillion. It didn’t take long for me to give up on that one. 🙂

    1. I hope you’re able to find plenty of time for reading in April, too then! As for The Silmarillion, my brother’s read it twice, so stubborn determination can kick in to carry me through. 🙂 Actually, it’s not too bad as long as I read it in little bits rather than try to read a bunch at once.

  5. Great plans! Calvino’s book sounds really intriguing. I may have to check it out.
    Have fun with The Name of the Rose!

Comments are closed.