RAL

Readathon: The Name of the Rose

It is with great excitement that I finally embark on reading a book by a contemporary Italian author. (Prior to today, the most recent I’ve read, excepting non-fiction, was 13th century. So not very contemporary.) The Name of the Rose has been on my long-neglected I libri italiani project list, so when a readalong opportunity came up I decided to go for it. With the holiday weekend, I’m not sure how much I’ll actually get read, but I’ll post updates here and on Twitter. Watch how slowly I read!

Saturday Lunchbreak Update:

I’m not very far in just yet (page 35 of 560), but I’ve met William of Baskerville and I want to SQUEE–it’s Sherlock Holmes! And I must be a bigger fan of Holmes than I realized, as I recognized him in the very first description of Baskerville, even before we see him in action. I’m now officially hooked.

Saturday After Dinner Update:

So the afternoon went: read–unplanned nap–spend too much time “researching”–read–dinner. I’m at page 83, so still on Day One but at the very least I WILL finish Day One tonight. The “research” started because I couldn’t picture the portal mentioned in the Sext section of Day One and one thing led to another. However, I now know that entrance to the Abbaye St-Pierre de Moissac is essentially what Eco is describing. For lots of detailed pictures see here. If I can refrain from any more “research,” I might make it further than Day One tonight…

Last Saturday Update:

Partway into Day Two and really hooked now, but also at a good spot to end for tonight. I’m sure I won’t finish this weekend, but it seems more likely that I will finish this soon (perhaps this week?) than I had expected before starting. Turns out, all I need is a good  mystery to make a chunky book seem shorter!

Sunday Update:

Busy day, so I didn’t have much time…and I was more easily distracted to day when I did finally sit down to read! I’m almost finished with Day Two and still enjoying  it. Hopefully, I can finish up yet this week. Thanks, Caro for hosting the readalong!

12 thoughts on “Readathon: The Name of the Rose

  1. Hee, I had the same reaction to Baskerville. I even gushed about him on twitter. I’m not very far along either, only about 80 pages in, but I’m loving it.

  2. So Baskerville is based on Holmes?! My day is made. And I thought I was being so clever with jokes in my post about how Eco’s Baskerville should not be confused with Conan Doyle’s hound of the same name. 😉

    1. Ha ha, yes, it seems that way! Although, I must admit, I didn’t know that Sherlock might be making an appearance when I read your post yesterday. 🙂

  3. Due to Easter festivities with my family this weekend, I haven’t been able to read as much as I would have liked, but it doesn’t take long for the novel to become really intriguing. I’m very much enjoying this monkish Holmes and Watson.

    1. An Easter family gathering kept me from returning to reading as early as I might have liked today, too. I agree about Holmes and Watson–had I known they made an appearance, I might have read this long ago.

  4. Oh, no! A book i’ve long longed to read, and now I’m too late for the official start. Well, I’ll read your thoughts, and plan on picking it up this Summer. I’ve had no luck whatsoever with Foucoult’s Pendulum, couldn’t understand a darn word after the first fifty pages, so I haven’t been exactly eager to rush into more of Eco’s work. Although I did very much enjoy The Mysterious Flame of Queen Loana.

    1. I started Foucoult’s Pendulum, but was never really able to get into it. This on the other hand is much more gripping. Even when the discussion turns more philosophical or theological, after a few pages something new happens to propel the narrative. Hopefully you enjoy this one!

      1. Phew! I’m glad I’m not alone in being lost with the Pendulum. Not that you were lost, but at least you didn’t get into it, either. 🙂

Comments are closed.