RAL

Dewey’s Readathon, April 2012 Edition

Books for 24-hour Readathon
Top to Bottom: The Silmarillion, Why Read the Classics?, The Name of the Rose, On Fairy-stories, The World of Downton Abbey. Plus a cup of tea.

I debated participating in Dewey’s Read-a-thon this year as, I’ll admit it, I find it somewhat exhausting to spend so much time in one day dedicated to just sitting (or laying about) and reading. I’ve been trying to read a little each day and avoid such marathon sessions…but the last couple weeks of reading haven’t gone so well, the library due dates are whispering my name, and I rather need to read this weekend. Sporadic updates will follow here, but I’ll likely update more frequently on Twitter. To everyone else participating, enjoy the reading!

Start of Hour #16/Final Update:

Time Spent Reading: 3-1/2 hours
Book(s) Read (in progress): The World of Downton Abbey
Pages Read: 115 pages
Thoughts: Wow! I read a lot this last little bit. I guess it helps when I actually focus! And I even broke down and watched the first few minutes of Series 1, Episode 1 of Downton Abbey. However, I’m now finished with this season’s readathon as my eyelids are starting to droop and I need to be up early in the morning. Best of wishes to those still reading.

Mid Hour #11 Update:

Time Spent Reading: somewhere around 3 hours
Book(s) Read (in progress): The World of Downton Abbey & The Silmarillion
Pages Read: 34 (Downton) & 11 pages (Silmarillion)
Thoughts: I’m a very distractable reader! I’ve been enjoying my reading, but the problem with the Downton book (beside wanting to watch the series again) is that it only highlights the history of the era, so I keep clicking over to Wikipedia to find out more. Oops. It’s fun though. I added in The Silmarillion to mix up things, and will probably flip between a couple books through this evening. For now, it’s back to Downton Abbey!

Start of Hour #6 Update:

Time Spent Reading: 2-3/4 hours, more or less
Book(s) Read (in progress): Deuteronomy (Bible) & The World of Downton Abbey
Pages Read: 3 (Deuteronomy—part of a year-long project) & 65 (The World of Downton Abbey)
Thoughts: Sluggish start, until the tea kicked in (Organic Breakfast). Otherwise it’s been fun so far. Although, reading The World of Downton Abbey, I find myself wanting to watch Downton Abbey. Oops. I might change books for a bit this afternoon, just for the variety.

21 thoughts on “Dewey’s Readathon, April 2012 Edition

  1. Hi, Amanda! 🙂

    I’m your cheer pixie for the read-a-thon, Mauie. Have you decided what book will you be starting with? And will that come with a box of yummy chocolates? 😀
    (I read your About page and found out about you being partial to those sinful goodies. If I were your neighbor, would surely send you some. Hehe

    Anyways, I would just like to say “good luck” and have fun. That’s more important than just racing to finish without savoring the book/s. 😉

    1. Thank you Elena! An excellent reminder. I’m just hoping to finish The World of Downton Abbey as I can’t renew it, otherwise I’m just looking forward to the time to read.

      1. Oh I had that one too, but haven’t finished watching season 2 and I’ve heard the book contains spoilers! Can’t wait for your review 🙂

        1. I believe it does contain spoilers, so wait until you’ve finished Season 2! I’m finding parts of it (history, society) very fascinating.

  2. I am obessessed with Downton Abbey right now, I need that book!

    I’m one of your cheerleaders today, so you’ll see me again later on, but here’s a quick cheer for you:

    You’re reading all day
    And reading all night
    I’m cheering you all the way
    Until the morning light!

  3. Ooooh! The World of Downton Abbey sounds like a FASCINATING read! Can’t wait to read your thoughts on it! Have fun today, Amanda. 😀

    1. It’s interesting, although the most interesting thing I’ve learned so far was that Winston Churchill’s mum was American. Thanks, and you too, Jillian! 🙂

  4. I love how you’ve included Deuteronomy in your reading! I, too, will probably include something from the Bible today. I’m not sure I could read something from Downton Abbey without wanting to watch it myself! XO

    1. I’m trying to read about 4 pages of the Bible a day, so I thought I might as well include it in my time. 🙂 Downton Abbey is a bit of a problem, but in a good way!

Comments are closed.