Reading

Post Read-a-thon Wrap Up

Well, I don’t know about anyone else, but I think I had a pretty successful read-a-thon. The secret? A book with lots of pictures! I didn’t finish anything (which means I’ll be trying to finish The World of Downton Abbey before I have to return it tomorrow), but I enjoyed what I read and even had some time for some side-trips to look up more history.

Event Totals:
Time Spent Reading: roughly nine hours, including distraction time
Books Read (in progress): Deuteronomy, The Silmarillion, The World of Downton Abbey
Pages Read: 228

I don’t know why I track pages, really, as I don’t care about that. It does seem to help keep me a little more focused. This was my favorite 24-hour read-a-thon to date as I really enjoyed my reading and moved around just enough that my joints never stiffened up.

I hope to keep the momentum up this week so that I can finish off some of the titles that have been hanging around. A happy reading week to all!

6 thoughts on “Post Read-a-thon Wrap Up

  1. Congreats! I hope this focus on reading time has made you a little bit happier. I have never joined one of these, but it seems that devoting certain hours to reading and being surrounded by a community can be very fullfilling and enjoyable 🙂

    1. It was a very fun time! I like that such readathons can focus my attention on reading–a little sort of accountability to all the others that are reading too.

  2. Glad you had a good event. Nice ecclectic mix of stuff there! I don’t think it matters that you didn’t finish anything, its kind of fun that you got to bounce around between various things that you wanted to read.

    1. Ha ha, finishing only mattered in that I had to scramble to finish the Downton book yesterday so I could return it to the library this morning (non-renewable). I think the bouncing was very helpful though. Sometimes when I focus too much on just one book I start not to like it so much.

  3. Congratulations, that is successful!
    I wanted to join so much, just to see how long I can keep focused on reading, so I am amazed by anyone who reads as much as nine hours on a single day 🙂

Comments are closed.