Challenge · Misc

Events all Around

Today is one of those days when it’s hot even in the shade, relieved only occasionally by an insufficient breeze. I have a huge backlog of posts and potential posts—most importantly for the recently completed The Name of the Rose—but my brain is too overheated to think about it. So I thought I’d update some of the challenges/events I’ve been participating in/will be reading for instead.

First, Carl’s (Stainless Steel Droppings) Once Upon a Time Challenge. I believe the only real rule is “have fun” but if we take the subtext to mean “have fun reading books for the challenge” I’m…failing! I think I’ve been reading everything but fantasy/fairy tale/myth/folklore. Now that the library books are out of the way though, I’ll do much better…I hope. I’m currently in the middle (still—it was pushed aside by more demanding books) of The Silmarillion as well as Tolkien’s essay “On Fairy-stories,” which was originally presented as a lecture in defense of a form of literature often dismissed as “children’s” stories.

Of course, finishing Carl’s challenge is about to become more complicated because overlapping OUaT for the first part of June is Allie’s (A Literary Odyssey) Victorian Celebration, which runs June through July. I’m not sure what I’ll be reading. When I signed up, my intention was to read Cranford and Bleak House, both of which are on my list for the year, but at the moment I’m finding myself more interested in returning to Sherlock Holmes. I blame PBS for their recent showing of Sherlock, series 2. If that’s not enough, I have plenty of unread Victorians to choose from, as whim may lead me.

And rounding out the list of upcoming reading events, Spanish Language Lit Month in July, hosted by Stu of Winstonsdad’s Blog and Richard of Caravana de recuerdos. I don’t have much in the way of plans for this event, although the readalongs (and movie watchalong) are tempting. And I’ll be reading some Jorge Luis Borges. That’s non-negotiable. Given the overlap with the Victorian Celebration, I almost feel I should find some 19th century Spanish-language literature to read, but I think perhaps I should stick with what’s already on my shelves. (It’s quite a list.)

As a final note, I wanted to thank Charlotte of Charlotte Reads Classics for The Versatile Blogger Award she included me in recently. All of the blogs she lists are excellent and it was very nice to be included!

And with that, may you have an excellent reading week, a wonderful holiday tomorrow if you have one, or a wonderful Monday if not.

13 thoughts on “Events all Around

  1. As a Spanish native who does not like Spanish literature, I feel obliged to recommend you the only Spanish work I love, a 19th century play called “Don Álvaro o la fuerza del sino” (Don Álvaro or the force of destiny). I read it twice as it is included on a few Spanish lessons and even saw it staged. It is just wonderful, although I would say the language may be a little bit difficult to understand, even for a native.

    Regarding contemporary literature, Carlos Ruiz Zafón is a hit over here with his “La Sombra del Viento”. But I don’t really like him, although 90% of the people I know do.

    Good luck with all these challenges and projects, they all seem super-interseting. And let me know if you need anything more about Spanish literature, I can do some research for you 🙂

    1. Thanks, Elena! “Don Álvaro” sounds really familiar—I might have it in a collection. I have the English translation of La Sombra del Viento but haven’t read it yet—maybe this summer.

  2. If you’re looking for 19th Century Spanish literature, I’d recommend “La barraca” by Vicente Blasco Ibáñez, “Paz en la guerra” by Miguel de Unamuno, and “Misericordia” by Benito Pérez Galdós. Galdós’s more famous work, “Doña Perfecta” is on my own reading list, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. All of them are from the very last years of the 19th century though.
    None of these are easy reads and I found them quite frustrating at times, but they’re definitely interesting. My favourite was “Paz en la guerra”, possibly due to a personal obsession with Unamuno ;).

    1. Thank you for the suggestions! I’ve heard of all three authors before (I even have a later Unamuno on my Classics Club list), but sometimes it’s hard to know where to start with a new-to-me author.

  3. Why, just why is it hot everywhere except for here?! It’s been raining almost nonstop for 2 weeks. Please sent the heat here!
    Also I had to chuckle reading what you’ve written about Sherlock Holmes: I blogged about exactly that today 😀
    Oh, and don’t worry, I’m astronomically behind on all of my challenges. You are not alone.

    1. I would gladly trade you some of our heat for your rain! It’s supposed to cool down this week, but no rain with it, although we really need the rain.

      I’ll have to check your Holmes post out! Maybe with the lazy days of summer approaching we can both get caught up.

  4. Congrats on your blogging award, Amanda, and happy reading to you with all these reading events. Laughed when I saw that Borges was “non-negotiable,” by the way. Cheers!

Comments are closed.