Reading

Happy Hobbit Day!

view of Birthday Tree from Bilbo's front door

Photo Credit: Trey Ratcliff

I have to confess, opening up WordPress today almost feels foreign, it’s been so long. It seems that I’ve been terribly busy of late (although I can’t help but feel that I’m losing time to my own inefficiencies, somewhere), so what little time I’ve had to spare has gone to reading of books rather than reading or writing of blogs. The state of my feed reader!

But, somewhere, perhaps on Twitter, I saw that it was Tolkien week this week past and that today is Hobbit Day (in celebration of the birthdays of hobbits Bilbo and Frodo), and as I’m currently in the midst of a reread of The Hobbit it seemed appropriate the ignore all those pressing “must-dos” and spend the day reading instead. Onward to Lonely Mountain!

7 thoughts on “Happy Hobbit Day!

  1. Happy Hobbit Day to you as well. I’ve been so deep in RIP stuff that I wasn’t able to take any time to read any Tolkien during this celebratory week, but he and his creations have been on my mind nonetheless. Super excited to see the newest trailer for The Hobbit. It looks like it is shaping up to be magical and I cannot wait to see it.

    1. This is the only day I’ve spent any time with Tolkien’s words this week, but I did watch the trailer a few times…or more…when it came out. I thought it was great that they released the trailer this week. I’ve had a countdown counter for the movie on my desktop for a while now, so that I know just how long until I can go see it! (82 days until it opens, if you were wondering. 🙂 )

    1. Thanks, Elena! It was certainly a fun day of reading. I think I’ve finally found time again, too–it was just hiding for a little while. 🙂

  2. Are you excited about the movie? I’ve read Hobbit five times! I know this is a few days off but happy celebrating to you as well.

    1. Yes, I am excited about the movie! I don’t think I’ve read The Hobbit quite that many times, but I’m working on it. Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.