RAL · Reading

Moseying into Readathon

Dewey's 24 hour read-a-thon

I’m finding myself very laid-back about readathon this fall, only joining up last night, just starting now. But I’ve pulled my books off the shelf, made a cup of tea, and curled myself up on the couch. It’s time to start A Woman in White, which I’ve been saving just for today. My copy is a used edition, hardcover, and the book seller’s penciled note indicates that it’s circa 1900. Delicate pages, tiny print!

Book - The Woman in White, copy c. 1900, blue hardcover

Updates will follow at my whim.

Happy reading!

Update #1

So…I lied! I had intended to start with The Woman in White, but I ended up reading The Adventures of Tintin: Destination Moon instead. (I’ve been rereading the Tintin books since late this summer. Ah, the joys of revising childhood. 🙂 ) But I started The Woman in White after that. I’m finding it a little slow so far, although the “sensational” touch does start early on. I’m sure I just need to read a few more pages and I’ll be hooked. I might however, pick up The Hobbit for a little bit, as I’ve started rereading it a few weeks ago but haven’t made any progress since, and it seems about time I do so. The evening’s still young; there’s plenty of time for a bit of both.

Update #2

I’m finding myself starting to nod off, a bit early alas. Too many late nights and early mornings, and I must be up early again tomorrow, so this is my final update. I read a few more pages of The Woman in White, but it was The Hobbit that captured my attention this last while. I’ve rather decided that I must finish it this week, busy or not; I’m much to enchanted to set it aside for another two weeks again.

And now, good night. To those still readathoning, enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Moseying into Readathon

  1. Ooh, I am reading this later next week – seems perfect for the time of year. Hope the reading is going well. 🙂

  2. I just picked up this book recently and plan to read it in the near future. Hope you enjoy it and the rest of the read-a-thon goes well for you!

  3. Rereading The HObbit seems like a great idea for the readathon. I also noticed you have Borges on the sidebar. That would be excellent readathon reading, I might just do a few stories of his as well, thanks for the idea! And The Woman in White does pick up, hope you have fun with it! Happy readathon!

    1. Thanks, Claire! I picked up The Hobbit and just got sucked in, so that seems to be the winner of the day. I actually need to get back to the Borges, as it’s been shamefully neglected, but I’m afraid I don’t have the brain power tonight.

  4. Hope you’ve managed to hang in there so far! I’ve been reading a bit of The Woman in White during readathon, too.

    Keep up the great reading!! 🙂 #cheertamales

Comments are closed.