Classic Children's Literature

Classic Children’s Literature Challenge: Wrap-Up and Links Post 2

Classic Children's Literature Challenge January 2013I can’t believe the month is over already, it’s gone by so quickly! A big thank you to everyone who participated this month. I hope everyone had as much fun as I did and found as many new books to add to their lists!

I didn’t get to read quite as much as I’d hoped thanks to the new job, but I guess that’s a good reason to be short on time. There were a lot of good posts and I was introduced to many new books and authors thanks to the event. I want to especially mention Jean’s wonderful series of posts on less well-known children’s authors and illustrators and Arenel’s post on Russian children’s literature, which introduced me to many titles I’d never heard of. Jean also ends the month with one last post, in which she shares some of her favorites authors from after 1960.

If you missed any posts this month, the links for those from the first half are on the Links Post 1 [click] and the second half are below. If I somehow missed you, please add your link(s) in the comments below. If you happen to have a wrap-up post, please feel free to link it below.

Informative Posts from Jean – Howling Frog Books:

Padraic Colum
Walter de la Mare
P. L. Travers
L. M. Boston
Tove Jansson
Roger Lancelyn Green
Rosemary Sutcliff
Edward Eager
Elizabeth Goudge
Homer Price
Eleanor Farjeon
Meindert DeJong

Amateur Reader (Tom) – Wuthering Expectations:

The Jungle Book and The Second Jungle Book – Rudyard Kipling (1894, 1895)

Anastasia – Birdbrain(ed) book blog:

Anne of Avonlea – L. M. Montgomery (1909)

Becky – Becky’s Book Reviews:

The Rackety-Packety House – Frances Hodgson Burnett (1906)
The Real Mother Goose – Blanche Fisher Wright (1916)
Heidi – Johanna Spyri (1880)
The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett (1911)

Bzee – Bacaan B.Zee:

The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett (1911)

Carissa – Musings of an Introvert:

Winnie-the-Pooh – A. A. Milne (1926)

Elyssa – unscripted:

Betsy-Tacy – Maud Hart Lovelace (1940)

Santurini – Reading Buddy:

The Little Water-Sprite [Der kleine Wassermann] – Otfried Preußler (1956)
Pinocchio – Carlo Collodi, Illustrations by Roberto Innocenti (1883)

Sarah – Sarah Reads Too Much:

The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame (1908)
Post on her Children’s Lit Class reading list

The Princess and the Goblin Posts:

Anastasia – Birdbrain(ed) book blog
Rachel – Resistance is Futile
Amanda – Simpler Pastimes

16 thoughts on “Classic Children’s Literature Challenge: Wrap-Up and Links Post 2

    1. Thank you, Jean! You put in a lot of work too, and I learned so much from your posts.

      I had lots of fun, and only wish I could have gotten more read. I was just reading some posts tonight and adding more (figurative) books to the “read soon” stack…

  1. Thanks for hosting Amanda! It was a great even to start the new year with =) I didn’t finish either but it’s all good, it was a whirlwind month! And congrats on the new job, good luck! ^.^

    1. Sarah, I actually linked those in the first links post–I only included the 2nd half of the month in this one. Looking at the wording of this post, I can see how it’s confusing though, so I’ll change it to make it clearer!

        1. No problem! The original wording above made it sound like all the links were on this past, so I’m as much at fault as anyone. You just brought it to my attention so I could make it clearer for everyone.

    1. You’re welcome! I’m happy that so many people participated and had so much fun. If I knew I would have the time, I’d love to do this again, but right now, I can’t say for certain that the time will be available.

  2. In the post after this one you said “there’s no blogging rules that just because January is over I have to stop reading children’s classics!”
    Yesss, that’s the spirit, you truly spoke my heart! I plan to attend to my not-managed-children’s-classics in the course of 2013, too! Thank you so much for hosting, Amanda!

Comments are closed.