Readathon

Read-a-thon–October 2013 Edition

I skipped last April’s Dewey’s Read-a-thon, but a few weeks ago decided the the October event would be perfect for kicking off the last two-and-a-half months of reading for the year. I’m glad I did; after the way the work week ended (for the office, not personally), I could use a bit of relaxing reading this weekend. I also happen to pretty much have my reading for the entire rest of the year planned out: how much I get read today may determine if I have room to add anything to my list this year!

BookPileOct13

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
Unseasonably warm (or maybe just right?) NE Ohio. Somehow, it seems like it should be colder for read-a-thon

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
The Dream Thieves. Or The Hound of the Baskervilles.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?
At the moment, a good cup of tea. And chocolate, always chocolate. (Can one live on just tea and chocolate?)

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!
I spend my days working in architecture and my evenings wishing I were more awake so I could read (more).

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
I can’t remember what I did the last time I participated…. I think take more reading breaks so I don’t get burned out by all that reading!

All my updates will either be on this post or on twitter (@simplerpastimes).

Happy reading!

Update #1

It looks like we’re starting hour 6 and as I’ve just lunched, it seems a good time to update. I’ve started with Maggie Stiefvater’s The Dream Thieves (sequel to The Raven Boys), and while progress has been slow (too many noisy distractions), I’ve made it through the first 58 pages. I think I’ll keep going with it for a while and then maybe switch. Unless I find I can’t put it down! Fingers crossed the distractions are gone and I can finish a book today.

Update #2

I’m starting to get a little drowsy and thought I’d take a little break. I’m trying to decide if I want to keep reading The Dream Thieves (currently on page 196) or switch to The Hound of the Baskervilles. Is there some way I can do both? I’m still enjoying the former but sometimes I find it better not to read an entire book in one day. That can sometimes take away from overall enjoyment. I suppose if I switch I can always change my mind and go back…

Final Update

Really droopy-eyed now and with things to do tomorrow, I’d better call it a night. (I know it’s probably still early for some people but I get up really early during the week–this is past my usual bedtime already!) It was fun, I read more than usual. Now to just keep the momentum going this coming week.

Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “Read-a-thon–October 2013 Edition

  1. I’m kind of liking the warm Readathon weather. It was nice to sit outside and read awhile without having to be all bundled up. Keep up the great reading!

    1. I’m actually rather partial to ugly weather for read-a-thon–when it’s raining it just seems perfect to curl up with a book, while nice weather seems to reproach me for spending a whole day reading.

  2. Well, taking into account how busy you are, it is a miracle you managed so much reading. I hope you enjoy The Hound of the Baskervilles. It was the first detective narrative I read and I’ve been a fan ever since.

    1. Thanks! I actually managed a good bit of reading on Sunday, too, so last weekend was a very nice reading weekend. 🙂 I have high hopes for The Hound of the Baskervilles–not only do so many people like it so well, but I’m already a Holmes fan, so I think it should go well.

Comments are closed.