Classic Children's Literature · RAL · The Classics Club

Coming: Classic Children’s Literature 2

Classic Children's Literature Event 2014 Logo 300w

Last January, I read a couple children’s classics. It was fun, but I didn’t read nearly enough. The only solution to that problem is to try again, so I’m hosting the Classic Children’s Literature Event again in 2014. (Last year, I called it a “challenge,” but that sounds like too much pressure, so I’m claiming executive privilege and renaming it.) Even if no one else is, me, myself, and I are very much looking forward to it! In fact, I may well find myself starting in December…

Of course, what’s an event without a RAL title? I’ve been thinking for a long while about rereading The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. First published in 1900, it’s over 100 years old–and the movie version turned 75 this year. Sounds like my reread is long overdue. If you’ve never read it, why not? It’s about time!

Event Basics

  • During the month of January, read as many Children’s Classics as you wish and post about them on your blog and/or leave a comment on the event page on this blog. I will have a link page starting the first of the year to gather posts so that we may share as we go.
  • The optional RAL title: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum. I plan on discussion the weekend of January 24-26.
    • For those who prefer to read digitally, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz is available free in multiple formats HERE or HERE. Even if you don’t wish to read it digitally (or at all), DO check out that last link for an HTML version of the first edition–the illustrations are worth the browse.
  • I’m not going to be the “children’s classics” police. Use your own judgement for what fits the category but if you want some guidelines, these are what I’m going by:
    • I think many of us have read more recent children’s books that we may already deem “classics” (for example, many people feel that way about the Harry Potter books), but for this event, I’d prefer if we read books that were written prior to 1963. This will still allow a lot of options, and will hopefully avoid the “but what is a classic” dilemma! (And yes, 1963 is rather arbitrary. Rebel if you wish, but 50 years old seems a good age.)
    • Defining “children’s,” especially prior to 1900 or so can be a challenge as some books we think of as “children’s” today may not have been intended that way at the time. Personally, I’d say books appropriate for approximately an elementary-school aged child or preteen (to read or to have read to them) should be fine. I’d personally also count the various fairy tales, even though some of the earliest versions were not exactly family friendly.
    • Feel free to include books from any country, in translation or not. I have limited exposure to non-American children’s lit, so I’d love to learn about books from other countries myself.
    • Feel free to double up with other events or challenges if you wish. As a little teaser of my own plans, at least one book I read in January will also double for my 2014 project of reading authors from Ohio.
  • Sometime in December, I will post an updated version of last year’s suggestion list, but if you’d like to browse in the meantime, you can find it HERE. Or, there’s always my personal project list, which is a good bit longer!
  • There is no deadline for joining or participating (other than, of course, the end of January).

Most important: Have fun!

Please let me know in the comments of this post if you are interested in participating, and let me know if you have any questions. Also, please feel free to use any of the following logos on your own blogs.

Classic Children's Literature Event 2014 Logo 250w

Classic Children's Literature Event 2014 Logo 200w

Classic Children's Literature Event 2014 Logo 300sq

Classic Children's Literature Event 2014 Logo 250sq

Classic Children's Literature Event 2014 Logo 200sq

Wonderful Wizard of Oz RAL 300w

Wonderful Wizard of Oz RAL 250w

Wonderful Wizard of Oz RAL 200w

Happy reading!

Image sources: The event logo illustration is from A Child’s Garden of Verses (Robert Louis Stevenson), illustrated by Jessie Willcox Smith (1905) and was found on Wikimedia Commons. The RAL logo is adapted from the title plate of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, 1st edition (1900) and was found on Wikimedia Commons. A digital version of this first edition may be found HERE.

 

24 thoughts on “Coming: Classic Children’s Literature 2

  1. While I’m a little tentative to overload myself with challenges this year, who could resist this challenge? What a great idea. I plan to read at least two children’s books in January and I will try to join The Wizard of Oz read, if time permits. Thanks for setting this up, Amanda!

    1. Welcome, Cleo, I’m glad to have you! The great thing about children’s books is that they are usually pretty quick reads, so it can be easy to sneak one in.

  2. I love this! I’m planning on reading a couple of classics anyway. I might even go along with the readalong as well because I worry I won’t be able to finish it on my own next year. Definitely will check back on this (:
    Now if only I can find a classics challenge year round as well…

    1. Thanks, I’d be happy to have you join! I know it’s always easier to get books I’ve been meaning to read when I’m joining in with a group. In the past there have been year-long classics challenges, but I haven’t seen anything yet for next year.

        1. My plan is to discuss the entire book over the weekend of Jan. 24th to 26th. I provided the date range for flexibility–if you finish reading in time to post on the 24th, post then, but if you need a last day or two to finish up, the time’s available.

          Also, you mentioned above that you were looking for a year-long classics challenge–I just saw one posted today: http://karensbooksandchocolate.blogspot.com/2013/12/announcing-back-to-classics-challenge.html

    1. Great, glad to have you back for another year! It’s sounding like there are several people interested in the RAL, so hopefully it will be quite fun.

  3. I would love to participate in this, I have Tom’s Midnight Garden on the shelf which I will read for this event and I will try and find a few other titles in the mean time. Thanks for hosting this event.
    Arabella

    1. Wow, that was fast! I will check that out. Also, for future posts, could you please link on the main links page (HERE) to make it easier for everyone to find? Thanks!

Comments are closed.