WeeksEnd Notes

Week’s End Notes (7)

  • I had fully intended that last week I would be a good blogger and finally publish my thoughts on The Hound of the Baskervilles. Then this week, I could catch up on odds ‘n’ ends, maybe an updated Children’s Classics suggestion list. But. Somebody perhaps can explain how, thanks to cutting work hours down to 24 a week through the end of the year, I have more time than ever, yet cannot get anything done? Or so it seems. I blame the holidays. (Shopping’s done though!)
  • So I’ve revised my plans. The Baskerville post is finally done AND scheduled (really, I should take advantage of that feature more often), and I’m still catching up today.
  • I was a bit dismayed when I was thinking about my posts here of late–very little in the way of writing about specific books. Which, yes, means I’ve not read much lately. Barely a thing since As I Lay Dying. Although, I am over one-hundred pages into my long-anticipated reread of The Lord of the Rings. I’ve decided though, I’m taking at least one of the two days I have off this week and spending it just on reading. How luxurious does that sound? I think I’ll pick whichever is colder. (Looks like Tuesday!)
  • A coworker of mine the other day was talking about how she’s always in a hurry with everything she does and that she’d like to not be. I think, yes, that’s me. I feel like I’m always bumping against deadlines–real or self-made–and becoming more stressed over “all I have to do” than I need to be. I’m looking at the list of books I want to finish/read before the end of the year–Mansfield Park, The Lord of the Rings, Little Women Part II, Anne of Green Gables–and thinking “I don’t have enough time.” But the deadline is my own imposition, it’s artificial. Three of those really could double for my January plans. And if I have to push my Ohio project off a little to finish other books, so what?
  • My desire to avoid artificial deadlines is one of my reasons for avoiding challenges for 2014. (At least challenges not of my own making.) However. I’m not always good at sticking to my own intentions. I already said that I’m really interested in some of Caravana de Recuerdo’s planned titles for next year (Don Quixote, it’s time to get read). And now o at Behold the Stars is planning some Russian Reading for 2014 and inviting everyone along. I’ve tried to resist, really I have (no matter how you cut it, Russian writers do NOT overlap with my Ohio project). But so many people are participating, that I’m starting to feel left out…and, can you believe it, I’ve never read anything by a Russian author? It seems a bit of a major gap in my reading. I only have to read one book to participate, so surely I can find something I could squeeze in. If only the novel I’m most interested in (War and Peace), weren’t also one of the longest out there… I can pretty much guarantee I WON’T get that read next year! Perhaps one of Tolstoy’s shorter works–I’ve heard good things about The Kreutzer Sonata.
  • Now…back to all those books I won’t actually have time to finish this year. Happy reading!
4 thoughts on “Week’s End Notes (7)

  1. I remember liking The Kreutzer Sonata – a good choice 🙂

    Looking forward to the Baskervilles post – I liked that book a lot.

    1. Good to know about The Kreutzer Sonata–I’m pretty sure that I’ve read that elsewhere, but can’t remember where for sure, so it’s always good to hear additional confirmation.

      I’m afraid the Baskervilles post will be unimpressive, as I put entirely too much time between reading it and writing the post. Something I need to work on!

  2. In spite of you not blogging about books lately, I really enjoy your posts, Amanda. It’s nice to read your thoughts and know that other people have the same struggles (and interests!) as I do. We are not alone!

    I’m just finishing up War and Peace. You’re right, it’s not a short read but you could always schedule it over 5-6 months and that would make it easier to fit in. As long as you are reading regularly, it shouldn’t be difficult to follow the plot line. I’m really enjoying it but with Tolstoy, I find I have to think about his novels for about 2 months after I finish them to let his wonderful writing really sink in.

    Best of luck with your reads and with finding more time to read! I hope to see you join the Russian lit challenge!

    1. Thanks, Cleo! It IS nice to know we aren’t alone! That said, I’m most dismayed about how little actual reading I did in late November and the first part of December. This week was decidedly better–I read several hours on Tuesday, a complete luxury.

      I would read War and Peace in the way you suggest next year if I didn’t already have some pretty solid plans for what my reading will be in 2014. As it is, I’m thinking a novella might be my best option for something Russian–and the challenge the best way to actually kick myself in gear to actually read a Russian author, finally.

Comments are closed.