Classic Children's Literature · WeeksEnd Notes

Week’s End Notes (9) – Classic Children’s Literature Edition

  • I feel like I’ve been a rather bad Event Host lately–slow on responding to participant’s posts, slow to finish anything for my own posts.
  • I’ll blame the weather for the slow responses–I worked long hours most of this week to make up for the fact that I only worked a half-day Tuesday, to avoid driving in the coldest part of the day. I don’t really understand why anyone would voluntarily wish to go out into sub-zero temperatures just to find a pole (as in the early polar explorers), but that said, I’ll take the weather we’ve had lately over the heats waves in much of the Southern Hemisphere. Ugh!
  • As for my own reading, I finished a book this week! Or one-third of a book, depending  on how you look at it–The Fellowship of the Ring portion of The Lord of the Rings. I’d started it last year, thinking even if I didn’t finish by year’s end it could double for a January post, but by book’s (section’s) end, I decided that 1) I think I shall complete my reread of the entire book (trilogy) before make any comment and 2) I don’t think it’s really a children’s book. Not unless said children are really into obsolete language in a bit of an archaic style. Anyways, more on those thoughts when I’m ready to post on the whole thing. The Hobbit, is, however, definitely a children’s book.
  • Every time I read Tolkien, I find a part of myself wishing I had studied languages or linguistics. The sounds of words, their components, their history–I find them rather fascinating, and Tolkien, with his invented languages and archaic words (e.g., fosse, sward, hythe, eyot) whets my interest.
  • Other readers have done better than I, however, at reading for the Classic Children’s Literature Event. So far:
  • Check their posts out!

Finn Family Moomintroll (book cover)

  • I was also made aware this week, via a post from Amateur Reader (Tom) at Wuthering Expectations, that 2014 marks the centennial of  Tove Jansson, a Finnish writer and artist. Now, I’ve not read any of her books, but given the combination of the upcoming anniversary of her birth (August, I believe) and the Classic Children’s Lit month around here, it seemed an appropriate time to pick one up. Jean of Howling Frog books blogged about Jansson last year and recommended Finn Family Moomintroll as a good starting point. I’ve already picked up a copy from the library–this week’s reading, I believe.
  • This week’s goal, indeed will be much reading! I have a pile of children’s classics to get through, and the half-way point of the month is nearly upon us.
  • Happy reading! May the coming week be full of many children’s classics!
7 thoughts on “Week’s End Notes (9) – Classic Children’s Literature Edition

  1. LotR isn’t a children’s book–you’re right. I read it for the first time when I was 12 or 13, and while I loved it, I’m sure I didn’t “get” all of it, even at that age. It wasn’t until I reread it while I was in high school that I really came to appreciate it fully.

    1. I think children can still enjoy it–my brother and I were both in elementary school when my dad read LOTR to us–but I think the length and style probably would keep most kids away. I agree, though, there’s a layer there that is better understood with more maturity as a reader.

    1. I’m so glad that you mentioned them and I decided to try them out. I have a feeling that the Moomin books are going to be the series of 2014 for me.

    1. I’ve only read a little of one so far, but I’m finding it a delight! I only wish I would have discovered the Moomin books long ago, but I guess it’s not bad to be enjoying them now so much for the first time.

Comments are closed.