Classic Children's Literature · RAL

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz RAL

Wonderful Wizard of Oz RAL

It’s here, the final weekend of January and time for discussion of our thoughts on L. Frank Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of Oz! Leave links to your posts in the comments, or feel free to discuss below. My own post will be up sometime later this weekend.

If you’ve never read it before (and were only familiar with the 1939 film version, or another adaptation), was there anything that surprised you? Does reading it make you want to check out one of the many adaptations? If I have time this weekend, I hope to revisit the 1939 adaptation, but I’m also intrigued by the 1910 (silent) and 1925 versions (both available for free online–follow the links).

15 thoughts on “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz RAL

    1. Thanks for the link, Ekaterina! I remember you writing about these last year, and I had had some vague thoughts of maybe reading both but didn’t have the time to get to it by now. I would still like to read The Wizard of the Emerald City though, which I’d probably better do while Oz is still fresh in my head. I’ll have to see if I can request it from the library.

  1. I read it last year, and wasn’t all that impressed with it. Maybe it’s just a little too odd for me. The movie really mellowed it out. 🙂 I might try the other film versions, though, just for kicks!

    1. After finishing, I’m not all that impressed, either! I don’t mind the oddness (if I did, I wouldn’t like books like Finn Family Moomintroll 🙂 ) but I didn’t think there was much to it. Now the film versions, those I still want to try out.

    1. I’m sure I saw (part of) the movie well before I knew it was a book, but I’m also sure I didn’t contemplate the two being different when I read it! Probably because I saw so few films as a kid that they were really something completely separate from books for me.

Comments are closed.