Reading Ohio

Reading Ohio, Completed: “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”

“The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”
James Thurber
first published March 18, 1939, The New Yorker
first collected, My World and Welcome to It, 1942
U.S., Ohio

secrete_life_mitty

Happy anniversary to “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”! First published 75 years ago today and adapted to film twice (1947 and 2013), I’m not sure if any American is actually permitted to graduate high school without having read it at least once. Or maybe that’s just my anecdotal perception!

If you’ve never read “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty,” or if you just want to revisit, The New Yorker has it posted on their site, HERE. Check it out! I reread it when reading The 13 Clocks as a comparison, and found that even in a story written for an adult audience, Thurber’s use of wordplay and sound-words still remains. The plot is less poetic: a weak-willed man with a domineering wife but a very active imagination. An enjoyable read nonetheless. (And nothing like the movie trailer!)

8 thoughts on “Reading Ohio, Completed: “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”

    1. Perhaps it’s falling out of favor, or not as wide-spread as it seems then! It’s nice and short though, so easy to get through in a few spare moments.

  1. Thanks for the link to the New Yorker. I’ve never read the book and only heard about it when I saw the trailers for the movie with the same name recently.

    1. You’re welcome! I was a bit surprised to learn that it could be read online for free, actually. I’m sure the movie has inspired a lot of people to search it out.

  2. it’s quite a magical little story. Amazing how much is in this tiny gem. I think you’d enjoy my comic strip version of The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. You can find it at the navigation bar on my blog.

Comments are closed.