Once Upon a Time · WeeksEnd Notes

Week’s End Notes (14)

First crocus of 2014

Happy Spring! (To the northern hemisphere, that is. Happy Autumn to the southern!) I’d begun to despair of ever seeing it this year–and Friday, a day after the calendar claimed it to have begun, we (my coworkers and I) were quite distressed to see yet another snowfall and hear that two of our members were driving through white-out conditions on the way back to the office. But then. The sun came out, the temperatures rose, the unwelcome snow melted. I arrived home a few hours later to discover the first crocus of the year, which delighted me to no end. They just wanted a little thaw and a little sunshine to spread their cheer, even if it is later than usual. I’ve also noticed the smell of skunks and the twittering of birds in the mornings, signs that no matter how much winter prolongs its grasp, spring does come.

onceup8300And with the first days of spring comes Carl’s annual Once Upon a Time Challenge (VIII this year). I had thought I’d sit this year out, with my Ohio project plans what they are. But then I remembered that I would still like to finish my The Lord of the Rings reread this spring. And then there’s The Wizard of the Emerald City, which as a special request from the library, I really do need to read now. And if I really wanted, I could find an appropriate book or two from Ohio, I think. Scratch that, it looks like the one I’m currently reading qualifies as “folklore.” So I’m in! I haven’t done so well with this challenge in the past, but spring is the time for optimism, so optimistically I shall join. And not just join, but aim for Quest the Second, to read at least one book from each of the categories: fairy-tale, fantasy, folklore, and mythology. I just need to find something to read for mythology… Any suggestions?

For anyone interested in Carl’s O.U.A.T. Challenge, it should be noted that rules number one and two are HAVE FUN. I think this means we should all be interested.

A big thank you to Fariba of Exploring Classics for naming me among her picks for the Liebster Award. It looks like Fariba has a relatively new blog, and she explores primarily English and French classics as well as children’s classics (yay!)–if those topics interest you, check her blog out. I’ll skip the “11 things about you” as I’ve done that before & had a hard enough time then. But I can answer some questions:

  1. What are your favorite and least favorite literary genres? Not good at picking favorites! If I’ve tried a genre, there’s probably at least one book in it I really like. As for least favorite, probably poetry, simply because I don’t really know how to read it. (Working on that.)
  2. What are you currently reading? The Wizard of the Emerald City by Alexander Volkov & The Conjure Stories by Charles W. Chesnutt.
  3. What month-long classics book challenges would you be interested in doing this year? This year I’m limited by my Ohio project, but I’d be strongly tempted by a Spanish language (translated) classics month. (I believe there IS a Spanish-lit month planned for July–I’ll participate!)
  4. What do you do when you are not reading? Watch too much TV (working on that…) & movies, knit, listen to music, bake.
  5. If you were stranded on a desert island, what 5 books would you need? Toughie. Perhaps Bible, Anne of Green Gables, As I Lay Dying, Dracula, Pride and Prejudice? And I’d likely have different answers tomorrow or the next day.
  6. What sort of music do you listen to? A lot: pop, classical, country, classic rock, “oldies,” bluegrass, soundtracks, jazz…mostly anything except hip-hop, Gospel & “smooth jazz.”
  7. City or country, beach or mountains? Uh…yes? I like all in their turn. I’m really a city girl, though–everything is so close at hand.
  8. Name 5 people (dead or alive) you would like to have a round table discussion with? I haven’t the faintest clue. Quite frankly, I think I’d be too tongue-tied to converse with anyone well-known.
  9. What is your favorite book that has been published in the past 10-20 years? I haven’t read too many from this time frame. Most enjoyable of what I’ve read would be The Raven Boys, but the best one would be The Savage Detectives.
  10. If you could learn another language what language would you choose to learn? Not counting the bits of Spanish & Italian I already know? Maybe French (to be able to pronounce names & words in books). Although I’m tempted by Gaelic (Scots or Irish, I’m not particular).
  11. You are on vacation in a different country, what do you make sure to fit into your itinerary? Architecture–the older, the better (usually). Of course, this does depend on the country!

That was rather fun–thanks again, Fariba!

I’ve acquired some “new” used books recently–my parents were weeding out their library and they were getting rid of some books I’d still like to read. The problem is I don’t really have room for them on my shelves. Or perhaps in my reading time! As I mentioned above, I knit in some of my spare time, and knitters have an acronym for when we’ve acquired more yarn that we could possibly knit up in our lifetimes: STABLE, or “Stash Acquisition Beyond Life Expectancy.” Is there a bookish equivalent? Somehow BABLE seems both appropriate and…wrong!

And with that, I’ll close my own “babblings.” Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “Week’s End Notes (14)

  1. I hope you have fun with Once Upon a Time! I read Lord of the Rings (for the first time!) for the challenge last year, so I hope you enjoy your reread. 🙂

  2. I made a goal not to join as many challenges this year and so far I’ve been doing really good. But this month I started to cave. 🙂 Good luck with Once Upon a Time!

    1. I decided at the start of the year not to join any multi-month challenges, but I did want to leave room for an exception for Carl’s challenges. And the bonus here is that I don’t even have to change my reading plans!

  3. I enjoyed getting to know you better, Amanda! I have to now go check out As I Lay Dying . And I see you’re tempting me with the Once Upon A Time Challenge. I would so like to join in, but I’m overloaded already. Have fun reading The Lord of the Rings. My husband reads it once per year.

    1. Thanks, Cleo. I’m sure not everyone will have the same reaction I did to As I Lay Dying, but when I finished it I wanted to start over again immediately. I restrained myself. 🙂

Comments are closed.