RAL · The Classics Club

Anyone for a Hound of the Baskervilles RAL?

A long, low moan, indescribably sad, swept over the moor. It filled the whole air, and yet it was impossible to say whence it came. From a dull murmur it swelled into a deep roar, and then sank back into a melancholy, throbbing murmur once again. (Ch.  7)

The Hounder of the Baskervilles 1st Edition Cover

One of the most loved–and well-known–of the Sherlock Holmes tales, The Hound of the Baskervilles is an atmospheric tale of horror, suspense, and mystery. Just the thing for October reading. Late last year when I posted about The Hound of the Baskervilles, several people commented that they might be interested in a RAL this October. I’m willing to host if anyone is still interested. So I’m asking now, anyone in?

23 thoughts on “Anyone for a Hound of the Baskervilles RAL?

  1. This is my CC Spin book, so ideally I need to read it before Oct 6th, otherwise I would have been in. Looking forward to reading everyone’s views though.

    1. Oh, that does make it difficult. I’m sorry that the timing doesn’t work out, but hopefully you can still share in the conversation once we’re all posting.

    1. I think The Hound of the Baskervilles is an excellent starting point! I’ve liked the others I’ve read too, but sometimes the short stories are just too short (I want more!), and the first two novellas both have their own shortcomings. This one, however, is a favorite. Glad to have you join in!

  2. My favourite Arthur Conan Doyle and one that got me hooked on crime fiction. How curious! Just a few weeks ago I tweeted about organizing a read-along as well. Best of luck with it x

    1. Oh dear, I didn’t ever see your tweet(s). The ephemeral nature of twitter… Thank you for the good wishes.

      I was thinking that “A Scandal in Bohemia” might be your favorite. I can certainly understand how The Hound of the Baskervilles might be the one to get you hooked on crime fiction though!

    1. I know how busy all your reading temptations keep you! If you can’t resist temptation on this one, though, at least know that it’s short–a novella, in fact.

    1. Sounds good! I’ve slowly been making my way through all the Holmes stories (about one novella or short story collection a year), and they’ve been quite enjoyable.

Comments are closed.