R.I.P. · RAL · WeeksEnd Notes

Week’s End Notes (18)…and R.I.P.

  • I should be writing (finally) a Lord of the Rings post, but I’m feeling contrary, so some random updates instead. After all, I have Monday off, so that’s a whole day to work on a LOTR post. (Err….did I just make a promise?!)
  • First, waaaaay more interest than I expected in a The Hound of the Baskervilles readalong. So that will be happening in October! I love the idea of Oct. 31 posts/discussion, but reality is that I’m better at getting posts up on a Saturday or Sunday. So how about the flexibility of posts/discussion anytime that last week of October? Sound good? And if you’re interested, it’s never too late to join. (Just speak up at the previous post so we know to find each other.) If I’m on top of things, I’ll try to have a links post up late October as well.
  • Oh, and if you’re looking for a RAL logo/image thing, I’m just using the image of the first edition cover. (See sidebar.) Isn’t it great? I found it HERE.
  • Now then, how is it the end of August already? I don’t think I finished….no scratch that, I only finished one book so far in August. It hasn’t even been a particularly busy month. I’m hoping to make that two, if not three, by the end of the weekend. Most of what I’m reading is so long right now, though. Take The Complete Calvin and Hobbes – that’s so big (physically) that I can’t take it anywhere or read it without a table to set it on. Actually, I think Calvin and Hobbes is going to be a rest-of-the-year project. Why not? They make me smile. 🙂
  • Of course my non-finishing hasn’t kept me from starting. (Hmmm….perhaps the source of the problem?) My reading this past week has almost exclusively been Let’s Talk About Love: Why Other People Have Such Bad Taste. If it’s possible to have a crush on a book, I may have one. More on that once I’m finished.
  • Ironically, while reading a book about music, I, who seem incapable of not always having something playing in the background, have reached a saturation point. After a fitful Thursday of not being able to settle into any music listening (does that ever make for a long work day), I’ve put myself on a music fast. Nothing but the sounds of nature (and computer hums). It’s actually a bit refreshing.
  • Now for the really fun stuff:
lavinia-portraitRIP92751
Artwork by Abigail Larson
  • Yay! Carl is once again hosting the seasonal R.I.P. reading (and watching) event, one of my favorites. I’ve been saving this year’s mystery reading for the event. Suspense, Thriller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror, and Supernatural are also on the event list, though I likely won’t move past the mystery category. (Unless I read way more than usual.) I think my favorite part of the two months, though, is that Carl’s number one rule is have fun. No big stressful challenge, just have fun. And share the fun with others.
ripnineperilfirst
Artwork by Abigail Larson
  • I’m going to daringly aim for Peril the First (four books), although participation levels can be a few as one book or a short story or even just watching an appropriate movie/TV show.
  • Hmm…so what besides The Hound of the Baskervilles should I read? There’s The Return of Sherlock Holmes, which is next of my Holmes-list. I really want to try out a mystery by Ann Cleeves, after hearing her interview for NPRs “Crime in the City” series in July. Of course, after last week’s “Crime in the City” entry, I’m also curious about Selçuk Altun’s The Sultan of Byzantium. There’s also Poe, who I keep saying I’m going to get to. Or I could search out an appropriate author to continue with my Ohio reading project. (I know of at least two off the top of my head, so I’m sure there are plenty of others.) Not to mention all the books on my Mysteries & Detective Fiction and Sensation! project lists. So many choices. You see why I like this event?
  • If you think you might be interested (such as say, if you’re already planning to read The Hound of the Baskervilles with me, hint, hint), head on over to Carl’s for more information, including about a group read for September.
  • Happy Reading!
2 thoughts on “Week’s End Notes (18)…and R.I.P.

  1. I’m glad this event fits in so perfectly with your reading goals/desires. I’m excited about the Hound of the Baskerville’s group read. I’ve been wanting to read more Sherlock Holmes and this will be fun. I’m excited and am happy that you are too.

    1. Thanks, Carl! This is one of my favorite events, as the timing always seems so perfect. I finished up a lingering book this afternoon, so now I’m just about ready to dive head first into R.I.P. reading. Glad to hear you are excited about Hound of the Baskervilles!

Comments are closed.