WeeksEnd Notes

Week’s End Beginning Notes (19)

  • Looking over both my recent posts and my “books read” list, the last couple months have been pretty quiet. Partially, I can lay blame on a couple of pesky work deadlines in September…but it’s past the half-way point in October…so I think I just need to acknowledge that I just haven’t been reading enough.
  • Fortunately, this is the start of a week off work–randomly timed “staycation.” It won’t be all reading (I spent the morning on continuing ed, for instance…yay…), but surely I can finish off some of my in-progress reads? Poor Let’s Talk About Love has been picked up off-and-on since August (and I really like it, too). And the mysteries are easy reads, no excuse.
  • So, to hold myself accountable, what I want to finish reading by the end of the month (and post on by the end of November, at latest):
  • There’s also The Hound of the Baskervilles. I haven’t forgotten about it, but if I’m not careful, the end of the month will really creep up on me! Not good! Definitely on my to-do list this week–I don’t want to be a poor RAL host.
  • Despite not actually reading much lately, I’ve been thinking about what books I’d like to get to before the end of the year + what I want to try to work on next year. I still need to read something Russian for the Russian Literature challenge I signed up for at the end of last year. And really, I should get back to my Ohio project, which was swept aside in favor of R.I.P. reading (which I can’t ever resist). I’d like to read at least two more books by the end of the year. At this point, I’m not planning to “formally” continue the Ohio project next year, but I think it will continue to guide some of my reading selections. If nothing else, I’ve left some threads hanging that I would like to follow up on. (More Charles W. Chesnutt.) I’m also currently planning to host a third(!) edition of Children’s Classic Literature in January. Not sure if I’ll have a RAL title (nothing in particular has come to mind yet), but it’s still early. If nothing else, I’ll use January as an excuse to read more Moomin stories or something else similarly delightful.
  • Happy reading!
2 thoughts on “Week’s End Beginning Notes (19)

  1. Thanks for the heads up for the January Children’s Lit event! I now need to plan! The Moomins sound like a great option. My daughter’s reading through all the books now and they vied for my top favourite books when I was a child.

    1. You’re welcome – and thanks for already expressing interest! I didn’t really know much about the Moomin books until I impulsively decided to read one last January and found them irresistable.

Comments are closed.