The Classics Club

Classics Spin 9

Question Mark - cover place holder

It’s been a long while since I participated in a Classics Club spin, and I’d been thinking recently that it would be nice if they hosted another one–let someone else decide what I’m reading! As I’ve done in the past, I used a random number generator to make my picks, which led to quite an interesting–and intimidating!–list, I think. Good thing I only have to read one of these. (Fingers crossed it’s not one of the really long ones!)

1. Morrison, Toni: The Bluest Eye (1970)
2. Melville, Herman: The Piazza Tales (1856)
3. Jackson, Shirley: The Haunting of Hill House (1959)
4. Dickens, Charles: Bleak House (1853)
5. Camões, Luís Vaz de: The Lusiad (1572)
6. Ford, Ford Madox: Parade’s End (1928)
7. Swift, Jonathan: Gulliver’s Travels (1726)
8. Atwood, Margaret: The Handmaid’s Tale (1985)
9. Tomasi di Lampedusa, Giuseppe: The Leopard [Il Gattopardo] (1958)
10. Steinbeck, John: East of Eden (1952)
11. Asimov, Isaac: Foundation Trilogy (1951-53)
12. Hugo, Victor: Les Misérables (1862)
13. Tolstoy, Leo: War and Peace (1869)
14. Huxley, Aldous: Brave New World (1932)
15. Marías, Javier: All Souls [Todas las almas] (1987)
16. Kafka, Franz: “Metamorphosis” (1915) and The Trial (1925)
17. Doyle, Sir Arthur Conan: The Valley of Fear (1915, Scotland)
18. Verne, Jules: Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (1870)
19. Collins, Wilkie: The Woman in White (1860)
20. Vargas Llosa, Mario: The Feast of the Goat [La fiesta del chivo] (2000)

15 thoughts on “Classics Spin 9

    1. Thanks! I don’t think my list is quite as heavy as yours, but there are some chunksters. A bit relieved I don’t actually have to attempt any of them just yet…

    1. Thanks! I almost replaced a couple on the list, just becuase I knew I wouldn’t likely be able to finish them, but it looks like it worked out.

    1. Ha ha, yes, I think that’s what I would usually expect, but I think it worked out this time. I hope you got something you like.

  1. So many great books on your list — Bleak House is one of my all-time favorites. East of Eden is also wonderful, and The Woman in White is really fun. I have two other books by Wilkie Collins on my list — Armadale and No Name, so I’m hoping for one of them. Good luck on your Spin selection!

    1. Thanks! I’ve really liked the Collins I’ve read, but for some reason have never read more than a few chapters of The Woman in White. Since it didn’t come up for the spin, I may have to prioritize it for sometime this year.

  2. I was looking at The Leopard just the other day and was thinking that I’ve had it so long that I should read it. Both Les Miserables and War and Peace have a special place in my heart but perhaps they are too long for a spin. In any case, I hope you get the book you want!

    1. I agree, Les Miserables and War and Peace are much too long for ME to read in the spin time frame, but had one come up, I would have used the spin to spur me to finally attempting it. As it is, I’m currently ambivalent about the book the spin picked, but at least I don’t think it’s too long! I’ve been thinking about The Leopard too lately–not sure why, as I know almost nothing about it, but I think I’ve seen so many posts on Italian lit that I’m starting to itch to pick up something. Hmmm…

Comments are closed.