WeeksEnd Notes

Midweek Musings

The 21st of May. How is it the 21st of May already? I feel fairly certain it should only be April. Like April 3rd. The spring seems to have entirely gotten away from me this year, and most dispiritingly, I’m not sure why or where. Have I really been doing that awful of a job of paying attention to the passing of time?

The number of renewals on my library card–the library must surely regret upping the renewal limit to twenty–suggest that I’ve been tossing aside time cavalierly, as if it’s of no matter. I don’t even believe I can blame that constant scapegoat, work, as outside of the previous week, I’ve not really put in much in the way of extra hours. No, it all comes down to me.

And it’s really just a matter of taking time. Of where I place it. How I manage it.

This is, I suppose, primarily about my reading. I’ve certainly found time for other things–I have a lovely new, very warm knitted scarf (that I, per usual, finished just in time for spring…), I’m actually caught up on DVR (even as I wonder why I watch so many things). And there’s been work and family things of course. By work, I don’t mean just work hours, no, I mean work events: the grill out for the departing intern, bike-to-work day. This last required much biking beforehand to get anywhere close to being ready–I work with people who train for triathlons–including one woman who’s run at least two (three?) iron-man distance races. I was definitely the slow one! (We met up at a trailhead about 8 miles from the office and were able to ride a rails-to-trails bike/walking path almost all the way to the office.)

But this week I’ve been off (lovely, glorious “staycation”), and along with other miscellaneous odds ‘n’ ends, I’ve been reading. Finally.

I was supposed to read The Piazza Tales for the latest Classics Club spin (by May 15), but have only made it through two, “The Piazza” and “Bartleby, the Scrivener.” Perhaps I’m just out of practice at reading 19th century American authors, but Melville is making me feel rather like I can’t really read and should just shelve the grown-up books and stick with kid’s lit. Thanks a lot Melville.

Fortunately, I had also signed up for the Beowulf read-along hosted by Cleo at Classical Carousel. I started it yesterday morning, and after only a few hours I’m at the 2/3 mark. Thank you, Ancient Epic Poem for restoring my faith in my ability to read above a 3rd grade level! I’m not participating properly, as we’re supposed to read a section a week and comment on it, but I will be good and post my overall thoughts on time. Especially since I think I’ll finish it today.

Of course, now I’m not sure what I’ll read next. I’ve found the downside of not having any specific reading goals or plans–too many choices and not enough direction! I think I’d better go for something off my bookshelves…. Or perhaps another Classics Club book to make some more progress. Any recommendations off my list?

6 thoughts on “Midweek Musings

  1. I feel the same about spring rushing by me without realising it! I certainly haven’t done everything I hoped I would have..
    It’s great that Beowulf managed to kick off your reading again 🙂 I’ve been having a similar problem to your Melville one with The Tale of Genji – after reading just a couple of pages, I feel like I need to change into some piece of literature that’s light and easy to read.

    1. Yes, hopefully Beowulf is just the beginning.

      The only thing I know about The Tale of Genji is that it’s long–which can be intimidating on its own! Good luck with that, and perhaps with finding something lighter. 🙂

  2. That’s great that you’re participating in the Beowulf Read-Along. I’d love to hear your thoughts on it.

    From your list, I like The Iliad, The Odyssey, Sophocles’ Theban Plays, Gulliver’s Travels and The House of Mirth. But if your brain needs something lighter, Out of Africa is really good, and Cranford, The Woman in White and I Capture The Castle. The last one is a wonderful summer read!

    1. I’ve finished Beowulf! So now I just need to formulate some thoughts. And maybe I’ll have time yet this weekend to read Tolkien’s essay.

      I should have known you’d go for the ancient Greeks. Hah, given that I’m finding Beowulf “lighter” than Melville maybe I should try some Greek Epic poetry! But actually, all of the lighter suggestions are really tempting. You see my dilema? Of course a “summer read” might be just the thing…

Comments are closed.