Challenge · Reading

New Year Plans: Addendum

Just a quick post to say that I’ve signed up for two more challenges, found thanks to Cleo of Classical Carousel.

First, the perfect challenge to go with my goal of reading more contemporary translations this year:

Button: Books in Translation Challenge 2016

Jen at The Introverted Reader is hosted the Books in Translation Challenge 2016. Since I plan to read not just some contemporary translations, but also some rather old ones, I’m setting a higher goal for this than some of the other challenges I’ve joined, Conversationalist (4-6 books).

Button: Shakespeare 400

Then there’s Shakespeare. I hadn’t specifically planned on reading Shakespeare this year, but plays to go relatively fast, and it’s hard to resist the temptation of reading something in honor of the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s death. Samantha Lin is hosting Shakespeare 400: The Bardathon Challenge 2016. My goal here is Mix-and-match Shakespeare (min. 5 Shakespeare experiences: read/watch/listen/perform/play). I plan to finish out the four Shakespeare plays left on my Classics Club list and watch a film version or two. Looking forward to this!

Adding these to all my other challenges/goals will make this quite a busy year! But I’m excited with my plans, and excited to be starting in. I was having trouble deciding where to start, but this post from Tom of Wuthering Expectations on his 2016 plans (late 19th century American lit – plus a couple interesting-sounding readalongs) set the metal wheels turning, so I shall be kicking of Reading Ohio + Back the the Classics (category 5, classic by non-white author) with some Paul Laurence Dunbar. How exciting!

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “New Year Plans: Addendum

  1. Ay yi! I’ve disturbed a few people’s plans with my challenges … 😉 I hope I haven’t helped overload anyone for the year, but the comfort is that I’ll be right there with them! I really needed the Bardathon challenge to get my Shakespeare Project going again. It was stalled, but I finished the year with Hamlet and now have new life. I just hope I can keep it going.

    Best of luck with your challenges, Amanda!

    1. Ah, you’re doing fine, Cleo. I was happy to find the Translation Challenge to help me meet my goal of reading more this year. And sure, the Shakespeare reading wasn’t necessarily planned previously, but I do have four plays left on my Classics Club list, and they shouldn’t take long, so I’m happy to add that as well.

      Best of luck to you with your challenges, as well, Cleo! I believe you are even more ambitious than I am!

Comments are closed.