Lists · The Classics Club

And the Book Is… Another Classics Spin

Question Mark - cover place holder

UPDATE: The spin number is 8, so Pedro Páramo it is. One of the few books on this list I don’t already have on hand, but I’ve already ordered a copy from the library. It’s coming from elsewhere in the state, so hopefully it arrives in time…

I wasn’t going to do it, really I wasn’t, what with all the books I’m still in the middle of, plus the upcoming busyness of my April Event, but I kept seeing others’ posts and in a moment of weakness I decided to join in the latest Classics Club Spin anyways.

The last spin I participated in I failed, if by failed you mean didn’t get it read by the deadline. I succeeded marvelously if the goal was to actually get the book read and posted about–even if it did take several months past the deadline. Really, reading deadlines are just general guidelines anyways, right?

I did limit my choices primarily to either books I already am planning on reading soon, books I own, or books that hit multiple categories in this year’s challenge goals (actually, all the books will meet at least one of those, not counting Classics Club). After randomly sorting the list I arrived at:

  1. Cranford – Elizabeth Gaskell
  2. Fables – Aesop
  3. Antigone – Sophocles (Sophoklēs)
  4. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
  5. The Day of the Owl [Il giorno della civetta] – Leonardo Sciascia
  6. The House of Mirth – Edith Wharton
  7. The Bluest Eye – Toni Morrison
  8. Pedro Páramo – Juan Rulfo
  9. The Warden – Anthony Trollope
  10. 2666 – Roberto Bolaño
  11. The Taming of the Shrew – William Shakespeare
  12. Agamemnon – Aeschylus (Aiskhulos)
  13. The Iliad – Homer
  14. His Last Bow – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  15. Three Exemplary Novels – Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra
  16. Mary Barton – Elizabeth Gaskell
  17. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
  18. Ficciones – Jorge Luis Borges
  19. The Aeneid [Aeneis] – Virgil
  20. Titus Andronicus – William Shakespeare

I’m most hoping to get one of the Shakespeare, as those are both “sooner rather than later” books (I have Titus Andronicus out from the library already). And my fingers are crossed that I don’t get the Cervantes, since my copy is in Spanish or any of the longer titles (such as 2666) – I really don’t see how they would be finished by May 2! I’ll update here with which book I’m reading once the number is announced.

Anyone else spinning? Or this there a book on my list you really hope I get?

7 thoughts on “And the Book Is… Another Classics Spin

    1. Thanks! I wouldn’t mind getting The Woman in White – I’ve loved all the other Collins I’ve read, and I’ve been wanting to read it for ages. This would actually force me to get to it sooner rather than later!

  1. Oh, what a wonderful list! I just finished Agamemnon and really liked it. The Iliad and The House of Mirth are two of my favourite books ever (a strange pairing, huh?). I’d be tempted to join you for Mary Barton, but I think, time-wise, I may be overcommitting myself (how unusual! **** sarcasm ***** 😉 ) And I have to concentrate on Shakespeare too. I’ve read exactly 0 books for the challenge as I seem to be immersing myself in the Greek classics. Anyway, have a great spin! I can’t wait to see what we all get!

    1. Thanks! I’ve read one Shakespeare so far, and 0 Greeks, but hopefully soon… And yes, I totally understand the overcommittment thing–really, I shouldn’t even be doing the spin, just based on the pile of books currently next to me. But it’s all fun, right? Have a great spin, too!

  2. AHHHH! You must get #11 simply because I want to know what you think. 🙂 Or # 6, because it’s one of my favorites. Best of luck, Amanda! x

    1. Thanks, Jillian. Alas, I didn’t get #11, but I WILL be reading it this year, probably May or June. (Unless I get distracted…) I don’t know when I’ll get to #6 without a spin, but I do own a copy, so that boosts its chances.

  3. I know that it’s me. I’m such a bad influence! But just to encourage you, sometimes when I overload myself and look back after it’s all over, I’m glad that I did because I’ll have read more books than I would have otherwise. However, this is perhaps a small consolation when you’re deep into the “overload”. 😉

    Best of luck with your book. At least, it’s short. Now, there’s a consolation! 🙂

Comments are closed.