Classic Children's Literature

Mid Month for Children’s Lit

Grape Hyacinth and Birdbath - April 2016

What a difference a week makes! Where just a week ago we were (alas) cover by a light blanket of snow, this week the flowers have rebounded as if the cold weather never happened. They might look delicate, but the early spring blooms are hardy. (And the temperature is nice and warm too – the weather’s always a roller-coaster around here…)

Friday marked the halfway point for the Classic Children’s Literature Event. Already! A reminder (to myself, if no one else) that this coming weekend, April 22-24, is planned for discussion of Emil and the Detectives. I’ve finished my reading, so just now for the writing. I’ve also finished up another group of Beatrix Potter stories and The Jungle Book; if I’m very well behaved I will post on both this week.

But besides myself there have been plenty of posts for the Event. A round up for the halfway point:

Anastacia from Rambling Reviews:
On the Banks of Plum Creek by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Carol from Jouney and Destination:
Sir Nigel by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Nancy from ipsofactodotme:
Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Anderson
The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare
Bunnicula: The Rabbit-Tale Mystery by James and Deborah Howe
Zlateh the Goat by Isaac Bashevis Singer and illustrator Maurice Sendak
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
The King of Ireland’s Son by Padraic Colum

Plethora from Plethora of Books:
The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Anderson

Tom from Wuthering Expectations:
The Happy Prince and Other Tales and A House of Pomegranates by Oscar Wilde
Peacock Pie by Walter de la Mere

Amanda from Simpler Pastimes:
Beatrix Potter Stories (group 1)

Please let me know if I’ve missed your post! And please don’t forget to add your links to the main post so that we all can shares in each others’ reading experiences.

Happy Reading! There’s still plenty of month left for much more children’s literature.

Classic Children's Literature Event April 2016 - original

2 thoughts on “Mid Month for Children’s Lit

  1. I know I am supposed to leave my update on your other post, but I keep getting error messages telling me I’m not allowed to post a comment… Adding my second: http://www.ramblingreviews.com/jack-and-jill/ Jack and Jill, and I finished reading the Prince and the Pauper, which I’m considering a children’s book for the purpose of this challenge! Thanks for including my link to your mid-month post!

    1. I’d count The Prince and the Pauper! Thanks for the link and for telling me about your comment problem. I’ll have to check my comment settings and make sure they aren’t blocking things they shouldn’t.

Comments are closed.