The Classics Club

Classics Spin 15

Question Mark - cover place holderHuh. It’s been a long time since I participated in a Classics Club Spin – apparently they’re on #15, and I last “spun” for number 9! So it’s about time. Especially since I have a new list from which I’ve only read one book so far. Of course, I have an abysmal record at finishing either book and/or post by the deadline, and I don’t exactly have an abundance of reading time at the moment, but ever-optimistic, I’ll try again. Per the suggestions, I selected a mix of books I’m really looking forward to/neutral about/on the slightly dreading side of neutral (I’m only truly dreading the really long books, but if I’m to be at all practical, I’d better steer clear of those at present). I’ve rounded out the list with the 5 Shakepeare titles currently on my CC list.

Without further ado:

  1. Jane Austen – Lady Susan
  2. Louis Bromfield – The Farm
  3. Homer – The Iliad
  4. William Shakespeare – The Merchant of Venice
  5. William Faulkner – The Sound and the Fury
  6. Anthony Trollope – The Warden
  7. Jonathon Swift – Gulliver’s Travels
  8. William Shakespeare – Hamlet
  9. Elizabeth Gaskell – Cranford
  10. Charles Dickens – A Tale of Two Cities
  11. William Faulkner – The Reivers
  12. William Shakespeare – Othello
  13. Stella Gibbons – Cold Comfort Farm
  14. F. Scott Fitzgerald – The Great Gatsby
  15. William Dean Howells – The Rise of Silas Lapham
  16. William Shakespeare – King Lear
  17. Aldous Huxley – Brave New World
  18. Ann Radcliffe – The Italian
  19. Joseph Conrad – The Heart of Darkness
  20. William Shakespeare – The Tempest

Good luck to those also participating and Happy Reading!

14 thoughts on “Classics Spin 15

    1. Thanks, I’m looking forward to the spin! Ha, would you believe that the Faulkner are in my “really looking forward to” group? I read As I Lay Dying a few years back and really liked it, and my dad has high praise for The Reivers, so I’d be perfectly happy to get either that or The Sound and the Fury. Of course, as busy as I am, one of the Shakespeare titles might be best.

    1. I guess I’m more neutral at this point about Iliad – it’s on my list for “soon” (if it’s not my Spin book, probably the first new read in May), but not one I’m overwhelmingly excited about. I may change my tune when I start reading though! I probably should sit this one out given the pile of books I currently need to get through, but I’m ignoring that wisdom….

      1. I’m also hoping you get The Iliad! There’s a lot to be enjoyed in it, if you can just push past Book Two (which is basically just an enormous list of ships, and not exactly a riveting read!) I think a lot can depend on the translation as well, so if you don’t get on with it I’d recommend maybe trying a different translation. The translation I read was by Lattimore 🙂

        1. Another vote for The Iliad – I didn’t know it was so popular! Well, even if I don’t get it this Spin, it will be, at latest, a summer read. I believe my copy was translated by Fagles, and I got on well with his translation of the Odyssey when I read that eons ago.

  1. Ooh, I love A Tale of Two Cities – one of my favourite Dickens, so I kinda hope you get that (and it’s not as long as some of his books 😉 ). I’ve got The Heart of Darkness on my list too, but under a different number. Good luck – hope you enjoy whichever one comes up!

Thoughts or Comments?

