The Classics Club

Another Classics Spin

Question Mark - cover place holder

If at first you don’t succeed….

This is apparently the 16th Classics Club spin. I don’t know how many I’ve attempted, and it’s been even fewer I’ve completed successfully (maybe one?), but it seems always worth the try.

Actually, I’d been thinking just the other day that’s it’s been a while since I’ve really read any books to sink my teeth into, or even any 19th or early 20th century fiction. (Of course, then I remembered that I read Twenty-thousand Leagues Under the Sea this summer, which I keep managing to forget.) So as it happens, this spin is quite timely. Because I’m craving some 19th or early 20th century reading, my spin list is largely from the middle of my Classics Club list, and I’ve left it in chronological order. I’m rather rooting for #1, Lady Susan, as I pulled that out for a reread a few weeks ago, though I haven’t gotten to it yet. But really, anything here would be good, especially as the bulk of the books are currently on my shelves just waiting to be read!

And you, are you spinning?

  1. Austen, Jane: Lady Susan (England, c. 1794)*
  2. Austen, Jane: Emma (England, 1816)*
  3. Brontë, Anne: Agnes Grey (England, 1847)
  4. Gaskell, Elizabeth: Mary Barton (England, 1848)
  5. Gaskell, Elizabeth: Cranford (England, 1853)
  6. Trollope, Anthony: The Warden (England, 1855)
  7. Collins, Wilkie: The Woman in White (England, 1860)
  8. Hardy, Thomas: Far From the Madding Crowd (England, 1874)
  9. James, Henry: The Turn of the Screw and Other Short Fiction (U.S., 1878-1908)‡
  10. Tolstoy, Leo: The Death of Ivan Ilyich and Other Stories (Russia, 1886-1912)
  11. Wilde, Oscar: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Ireland, 1891)*
  12. Wells, H.G.: The Time Machine (England, 1895)
  13. Wharton, Edith: The House of Mirth (U.S., 1905)
  14. Cather, Willa: Death Comes for the Archbishop (U.S., 1927)
  15. Faulkner, William: The Sound and the Fury (U.S., 1929)
  16. Gibbons, Stella: Cold Comfort Farm (England, 1932)
  17. Huxley, Aldous: Brave New World (England, 1932)
  18. Bromfield, Louis: The Farm (U.S.-Ohio, 1933)
  19. Wright, Richard: Native Son (U.S., 1940)
  20. Ellison, Ralph: Invisible Man (U.S., 1952)
16 thoughts on “Another Classics Spin

  1. I always spin! I love spinning. 😀 You have a fabulous list here — I love Anne Bronte and so many of these. (Also my 17yo is reading Invisible Man for her English class right now, so that is amusing to me.) I hope you get a good one!

    1. Unfortunately I’ve missed more spins than I’ve particupated in, but they are always fun! I’ve never read any Anne Bronte, even though I keep meaning to. Maybe this spin? Thanks!

  2. Thanks! I’ve read several pre-Classics Club, but I’m a habitual rereader, so didn’t exlude any rereads from this spin. I’ve never read The Woman in White, but I have loved all the other Collins I’ve read.

    1. Thanks, Jessie! Austen is always a favorite, but I wouldn’t mind any of those you’ve listed—Collins is also a favorite, and I’ve heard good things about the others.

  3. We share two – House of Mirth and Death Comes for the Archbishop. I always find these lists fascinating. I read Lady Susan and thought it was OK (struggled with the limitations of the epistolary structure) so I enjoyed the film adaptation, Love and Friendship, more (unusually, as in most cases the book is always better than the film).

    1. I’ve read Lady Susan before, but I don’t really remember what I thought, so even though I didn’t get it as my spin title, I’m planning to reread it soonish. I still need to watch the film adaptation, too.

Thoughts or Comments?

