The Adventures of Pinocchio RAL

PinocchioRAL_300

It’s here, time for discussion of our thoughts on Carlo Collodi’s  The Adventures of Pinocchio! Leave links to your posts in the comments, or feel free to discuss below. My own post might be a bit delayed due to an unfortunate work deadline that has left me with very little reading time this week, but hopefully will be up sometime later this weekend.

If you’ve never read Pinocchio before (and were only familiar with the  Disney version, or another adaptation), was there anything that surprised you?

13 thoughts on “The Adventures of Pinocchio RAL”

  1. Ha ha! This book is completely different from what I expected. It’s a little bit like The Wizard of Oz and the Brother’s Grimm. And it’s very Italian, which is certainly completely lost in the Disney movie. So far, I’m really enjoying it!

    1. Yes, that’s it! I was trying to think of the comparison, and the Oz + Grimm seems just right. I also noted that the Disney version loses the Italianness. Which I suppose isn’t all that surprising. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying it–so am I, about 1/3 left to go.

      1. There are an amazing amount of illustrations around for Pinocchio. If I actually had more than a few minutes of free time, I’d work on a post of some of them, but given the schedule this week, that almost certainly won’t happen.

Comments are closed.