Welcome to the Classic Children’s Literature Event, 2016!

Classic Children's Literature Event April 2016 - original

No book is really worth reading at the age of ten which is not equally (and far more often) worth reading at the age of fifty.

C.S. Lewis

Today marks the first day of the 2016 Classic Children’s Literature Event! I hope for a fun month of revisiting old favorites and meeting new ones, and for plenty of great discussion about children’s classics both well known and nearly forgotten.

Starting today, the Event Logo at the top right of the blog will link to this page, which will be the link page for the event. (And this post should also be a “sticky” post at the top of the blog.) Please use the  comments below to link to your posts for this month. This will make it easier to for everyone to find each other’s posts! There will be a separate page for the Emil and the Detectives readalong which will go live nearer to the discussion weekend. At the end of the month–and half-way through if there are enough posts to warrant it–I will round up all the links onto one post for ease of discover.

As I said before, I’m not too fussy about the particulars for this event–as long as it’s still April it’s never too late to join!

(If you really want more guidelines check the Introductory Post. If you need reading ideas please see 2013’s suggestions list or 2014’s.)

26 thoughts on “Welcome to the Classic Children’s Literature Event, 2016!”

  1. I am really looking forward to participating this year! Even though I’m currently involved in the Man Booker International Prize, I will surely get to some classic children’s literature by mid-April. Thanks for hosting this, it’s a lovely treasure to focus on! I love the button, and what a perfect quote by C. S. Lewis!

    1. Thank you! I couldn’t not include the Lewis quote, it’s too perfect. The nice thing about children’s books–even the “old” ones is that it’s usually easy to sneak something in. Enjoy!

    1. You’re welcome, and thank you for participating! And you’re certainly on the ball–I’m still working on my first book.

    1. Sorry that it took me so long to respond, but I did get your link added to the final list. Glad to hear you enjoyed it so much!

Comments are closed.